RSS

The weekend of (and a hairy tale)

31 Jul

I had my appointment with the psychic medium yesterday, but this post is not about that. I will post about it, but I can’t handle it right now.

This past week I had my hair color-fixed at the salon, and I ended up doing a purple-wine color, with blue underneath the major fall of my hair. It’s a little hard to see the blue because I’m wearing a blue shirt. You said “duh” but I honestly wore it in case I had any blue dye drippage, I figured you wouldn’t notice on the shirt. (the hair stylist took this photo outside of the salon)

redredwinehair2

And this is the photo I took indoors a few hours later. Sorry, I still have a thing about privacy and I couldn’t get pictures of the back of my head because my shoulder doesn’t cooperate these days.

redredwine3

 

I was surprised at how nice my hair looked considering how shitty the texture was prior to the dye-job. I asked her not to trim the “crispy” ends because I’m getting an updo for the wedding and I wanted the extra length for that. As it turns out–so far–the ends were far from crispy after I was dyed and washed. She said the demi-colors that she used were conditioning (and so is the blue, which isn’t demi), so here’s hoping. At present, I’m sitting here with a treatment on my hair prior to the first wash after the dye-job. I hope my hair isn’t in horrible shape after the wash in another half an hour.

Anyway, I like the colors, I’m just feeling a little shell-shocked at how I look with dark hair again. I’ve been living with the washed-out hair for so long that the dark color is DARK. It also drives me kinda crazy that I can’t ever make my hair look like it looks walking out of the salon. I know that’s a very common complaint for women, but shit…look at that hair on the first picture. It looks so soft and bouncy and shiny and lovely. It’s a trick, people! Stylists are witches…I’m telling you. They have some kind of voodoo magic, that’s why none of us can ever replicate it.

So yesterday, the appointment with the psychic. Last evening, I was tired. I slept really crappy last night, woke up at 6am to my father’s barking dog outside…and I never got back to sleep. I’ve been feeling crappy all day today. I basically sat in my recliner all day and tried to do nothing. My face and my head and everything felt swollen and stuffy. I don’t know how else to explain it. Like when you go through a pressure change? And then later, as the day wore on, I started feeling off-balance and that terrible exhaustion creeping up on me. When I got up to eat dinner with Hub, I really felt tired and off-balance and nauseated and I had trouble walking. I was upset after dinner because I knew I had to rinse my hair and then put the treatment on…and then wash the treatment from my hair.

And I’m worried about tomorrow. I’m supposed to go with my SIL and my nephew’s girlfriend to get updo’s done for the wedding. I don’t know if I’ll be able to do it. I’m not even sure how well I’m going to make it through the wedding. I feel so shitty…the wedding is supposed to be like five hours long… I’ll try to do nothing in the morning in the hopes I can make it to the salon and then to the wedding. I had hoped to do my nails tonight, but that’s out. Sucks more than I expected because I think my fingernails are a bit tinted blue from putting the treatment into my blue hair. I hope when I go to wash my hair that the blue tint won’t get worse. I’ll be at the wedding with blue-tinged hands…yay. Maybe I shouldn’t have waited until today to wash my hair for the first time since getting it dyed, but I was trying to keep the color fresh. Oh well…

The worst part is how bad I feel physically. Is it because of the emotions that came up yesterday with the psychic? Is it the wedding tomorrow we’ll be celebrating without Mom? Is it having family in town (and staying with us) without Mom? Or is it my physical health is just shitty? Did I eat something wrong? Is it a combination of all of the above?

Well, I hope when I get my hair done tomorrow I can get a picture of it. I wanted to have the blue peek through a little with the updo just for fun. We’ll see how it comes out. And hopefully I make it through at least the ceremony and the dinner. I’ll call it a success if I can do that…anything more than that will be gravy.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “The weekend of (and a hairy tale)

  1. joey

    July 31, 2017 at 1:00 pm

    Very familiar with not having enough spoons to do event prep AND the event itself. I feel for you. Usually I make it through on a wing and a prayer, but sometimes I don’t, and sometimes I get sick. When in doubt about the nails, file and clear take ten minutes and don’t even require much effort/ steady hands/ hand strength/ patience. Here’s hoping you pull through the five-hour wedding!
    My hairdresser in Georgia explained to me once about why when we color our hair it’s so incredibly soft and manageable, but I forget the reason, I just know it’s true. Course, it doesn’t last, so then we wanna color it again… Same sorta cycle with shampoo, and I gave up both in February.
    Your hair is super pretty in the photos! It will look so pretty in an updo with the colors!
    Moo has been doing the blue hairs, and while it’s super cute on Moos and she has mermaid hair πŸ˜€ the blue dye is really leaky. Much messier than Sassy’s pink and purple. I don’t know why that is. The first few days, it’s on her neck, on her hands, on her pillow, on our throw pillows. It washes out over time, but I don’t like that aspect of it.

     
    • meANXIETYme

      July 31, 2017 at 1:10 pm

      I was exhausted at the hair stylist…and even though I gave him a picture he didn’t do what I asked. And I hated the updo he gave me. It looked like something I could have done and I don’t DO updos. They were running late, so we finished late so we had to rush back to the house and get dressed in 30 minutes. I didn’t do my nails at all…not even clearcoat because I’d used polish remover the night before to get the blue tint off my nails! I did a shitty make-up job (I never wear it) and we basically raced out of the house 10 minutes later than we had hoped. Then there were accidents on the highway getting to the venue…of course! We got there with ten minutes to spare and we kind of rushed into the hotel and to the ceremony room. They had a cocktail hour afterward, but I couldn’t eat any of the food. The dinner was late…I ate the tiny salad, and then my GF vegetarian plate came for the entree and it SERIOUSLY looked like someone had thrown up my plate. It was gross. I was told that the cocktail hour food was pretty bad, and so were the regular entrees. So basically I had a tiny salad and then ice cream. And we didn’t get dessert until 9pm, I rushed through it because Hub was leaving at 9:30 whether I was ready or not. I was SO closed to passing out at that point. The music kept getting louder and I kept getting more exhausted and overwhelmed. By the time we got home I basically yanked the pins and rubber bands out of my hair and I fell into bed. And I forgot I had PT first thing this morning…ugh. I set my alarm when I went to the bathroom at 2am.

      I have pics of the updo from the wedding, but they’re a waste. I won’t even post them. I’m embarrassed that I paid money for it.

      I don’t know why blues are so leaky either. They start out nice and blue and fade so fast. They used a new dye that she says lasts longer (pulp riot) but we’ll see how it goes. I’m so jealous of Moo and Sassy! I wish I had the courage to do that kind of thing as a youngster. I’m just making my way into that arena now! LOL Next up for me is a mermaid kind of deal! So far with this blue, it hasn’t gotten on anything but my fingernails. Even the towel after the shower had only a TINY bit of blue on it. But I did do a color hold treatment before my first wash…

       
      • joey

        July 31, 2017 at 1:34 pm

        I have never starved through a wedding, but I’ve heard many tales of those who have. Isn’t that the damnedest thing?
        When you’re already frazzled, loud music is the worst.
        Sorry your updo was a waste.
        Your blue is definitely holding stronger than Moo’s. Maybe I will ask stylist about alternative brands next summer. I let them get the funky hair freshened for the beginning of school, but more subtle, because I have no intention of maintaining it. Honestly, it seems there are more kids with colored hair than not. At least where we live.

         
      • meANXIETYme

        July 31, 2017 at 1:58 pm

        I didn’t realize that we wouldn’t be starting dinner until close to 8pm or I would have eaten something before I left. Or brought a snack. Everyone else gorged on finger foods at the cocktail hour (and there were a lot of varieties) so for most people that was fine. For me, it sucked. Especially as I was feeling so crappy leading in.
        And yes, I was feeling panicky and just…upset with all the loud music and relatives I didn’t want to see and such. I had to leave the room at one point. Just stood up and ran off. Fortunately, the hotel was on the harbor so I could look out over the water and try to just fine some balance again.
        If it’s helpful, the treatment I used was called Olaplex, which is supposed to be helpful for holding color and restorative in closing the hairshaft after color. It’s not cheap (I ordered it direct from them but you can get it from salons), but in that tiny bottle I’ve gotten FOUR treatments on my long hair. It really seemed to help as I had almost NO blue water in the shower, as well as a trace amount on the towel.
        Lots of fun colored hair around here (all ages) these days, but not so much when I was younger! Which was EONS ago! LOL

         
      • joey

        July 31, 2017 at 4:40 pm

        That’s nice you had some water views to escape too, it’s just too bad you had to escape.
        I’ll ask about the Olaplex. Thanks.

         
      • meANXIETYme

        July 31, 2017 at 4:49 pm

        I think Olaplex has something the stylists can add into the color at the salon, too (if the salons carry it), so you get some extra treatment there. I don’t think my salon offered it, and since I had leftover at home, I just did it on my own.

         
      • joey

        July 31, 2017 at 4:53 pm

        Our stylist is a friend, so we see her in her home or ours, so we have great communication. πŸ˜€

         
      • meANXIETYme

        July 31, 2017 at 4:53 pm

        Awesome! πŸ™‚

         
  2. joey

    July 31, 2017 at 1:02 pm

    OH! And I was gonna say, two Joey-proven cures that usually work on the stained fingernails — clean something using either Clorox Clean-up or Soft Scrub with bleach. Never fails me.

     
    • meANXIETYme

      July 31, 2017 at 1:11 pm

      LOL I looked up online and someone said just clean your nails with polish remover. Luckily for me I was wearing a clearcoat, so when I used the polish remover, 90% of the blue came off and the rest was hardly noticeable. Thanks!

       

Leave a Reply

 
