RSS

Hairy tale (follow-up)

31 Jul

Because I need validation. I NEED VALIDATION.
(origin story post)

Inspiration photo:

 

The pic that Hub took of my hair:

20170730_222341

VALIDATE ME!

Makes me so mad that I paid for the above mess ($50 with tip). And see how in the above picture the side is sort of softly swooped away from the face in sections? I got none of that. He just pulled my hair back in a flat comb-back (don’t have a good picture of that part). And I got no soft curls, no romantic fall of hair…I got a bird’s nest. I wanted it up off my back because my dress had a kind of low back and I wanted it to show, but I didn’t get that either. And for the record, I told him all of this…and showed him the damn picture.

I know, I should have said something, but I couldn’t see ANY of my hair until we were done (he had me facing away from the mirror)…and by then we were already running so late that when we got home, I had thirty minutes to dress and do my make-up. I couldn’t stop to have him re-do, and I honestly was so freaking exhausted at that point that I didn’t care. But the more I think about it the angrier I get. I spent my time and energy not only finding someplace to go with my SIL and nephew’s girlfriend, but then I spent my waning energy by going there and having my hair done.

We had appointments for two of us at 1pm and the third person at 2pm. When they called to confirm on Saturday, they only had the first two appointments, and my appointment at 2pm was suspiciously canceled (they couldn’t figure out why or how it got canceled). The person on the phone re-added me, said they had plenty of time for me in the schedule, and that all was well. When we arrived at Ulta at 12:45, they had two stylists on duty and one of them was knee-deep in a wedding updo and makeup job. So they started with the SIL (who had to leave earlier than we did), and when the other stylist freed up (over an hour late), he started on my hair. He saw my inspiration picture, asked to see it again after a few minutes, then seemed to just go and do whatever he wanted. I suspect he has ONE style, that he then either puts UP or leaves half down, because I watched him do basically the same thing he did to me to the other person in my party, but he put her hair up instead of “curly”. HER hair looked pretty good, my SIL’s hair (done by the first stylist) was nice enough. I got a mess of a blobbly, sloppy pony tail with my hair wrapped around the base of it. WTF.

I kind of just want to go somewhere else with the pretty inspiration picture and ask them to do my damn hair so I can enjoy it. Boo.

I guess on the positive side, I had a lot of people compliment my dress and how I looked. I don’t handle compliments very well, so I felt awkward every time someone said something, but oh well. Amusingly enough, my SIL said she had picked out the same exact dress for her daughter’s wedding several years ago, but ended up wearing one of the other options she’d bought.

I’m in a bad mood. I shouldn’t post this blog but I’m gonna anyway. I wrote a review about the Ulta salon on Yelp, because I feel like the stylist just didn’t give a shit about what I wanted and people should know that.

I had a whole list of things I needed to do today, but other than PT this morning and packing up some purses to go back to Amazon (I ordered a “sampling” to go with my dress and kept one), I did none of it. Bleh.

Bleh bleh bleh.

Oh lordie I think he burnt my hair. I thought it was the smell of the product he used in my hair, but I have just washed and conditioned my hair and it STILL smells bad/burnt. OMG what the hell did he do??

 

Tags: , , , , ,

11 responses to “Hairy tale (follow-up)

  1. joey

    July 31, 2017 at 9:30 pm

    OMG.
    OMG.
    My whole family is validating you. The Mister’s over here talkin about “Is he blind? Did she pay him?” That was awful and I’m glad you wrote a review. That’s messed-up!
    On the other hand, it’s nice you looked great despite that hairnotdid and I’m glad you received compliments. 🙂

     
    • meANXIETYme

      July 31, 2017 at 9:35 pm

      THANK YOU.

      And thanks to the whole family, including The Mister. LOL.

      Hub only wanted to tell me how lovely I looked even if it wasn’t like the picture (good Hub)… I know he meant well, but I wanted him to tell me that I was right and the stylist did a hack job. He was afraid if he said that then I would feel like he was saying I didn’t look good.

       
      • joey

        July 31, 2017 at 9:37 pm

        It’s hard for them, isn’t it?
        “Good thing you’re so pretty, cause only pretty ladies can pull off jacked-up hair like that!” 😉

         
      • meANXIETYme

        July 31, 2017 at 9:39 pm

        LMAO

        Yeah, I guess he felt it was safer to go with the pretty compliment than to risk upsetting me by saying my hair was jacked up.

        I kinda hurt myself laughing at that. Thanks! 🙂

         
      • joey

        July 31, 2017 at 9:57 pm

        Oops, sorry, but 😀

         
      • meANXIETYme

        July 31, 2017 at 10:13 pm

        Not sorry! Needed the laughs, despite the consequences. LOL

         
      • meANXIETYme

        July 31, 2017 at 10:14 pm

        Also, I complained to Ulta corporate that I had all those issues plus he burned my hair. Maybe they’ll give me my money back…

         
  2. DGGYST

    August 1, 2017 at 10:49 am

    =( Oh! That is no good! I mean, you have beautiful hair, but no! I once got hair extensions ( 700 dollars) and after the installation she went through and layered my hair so thin, I had less than when I went in even with the extensions! So. Many.Tears.

    https://damngirlgetyourshittogether.com/

     
    • meANXIETYme

      August 1, 2017 at 11:01 am

      So much hair trauma! Why does it still happen in this day and age?! 😦

       
      • DGGYST

        August 1, 2017 at 11:08 am

        ugh! Right! I just have my sister cut it now, because I am emotionally scarred! haha!

         
      • meANXIETYme

        August 1, 2017 at 11:13 am

        LOL

         

Leave a Reply

 
