RSS

Two year cancer update

23 Jul

This past week I went to see my gyn oncologist for my annual cancer check-up. Oddly, the office was very quiet and they took me back on time. Normally the place is mobbed and we wait forty-five minutes to an hour to see the doctor. I’m not complaining, it was just so weird. As it was, my original appointment was at 2pm, but the Thursday before my appointment the office called to say the doctor was going to be out of the office at that time and could we move the appointment to an earlier time. We, of course, got there about twenty minutes early, and during that time we saw my doctor wandering around casually like he had nothing much going on. Normally he’s running from one exam room to another and never comes out to the front the entire hour or so we’re waiting.

I wasn’t sure if all this was a good omen or a bad one.

My blood pressure is always good in their office. This time, though, the wrist cuff they normally use wouldn’t stay velcro’d on, which was a bit upsetting because it made me feel like my wrist was too fat. I had to stop myself and change my inner monologue, because every other time we’ve been there the wrist pressure cuff has worked. I assume this particular one was losing it’s velcro power. So the nurse did an old-fashioned manual check and again my BP was pretty awesome. Normally I get white-coat syndrome and my BP is kind of high, but at the gyn/onc’s office it’s in the normal range…and I have no idea why.

Le Dottore came into the exam room wearing an awesome royal purple tie with white polka dots. Purple is mine and my mother’s favorite color, so I took that as a good sign. I even told him how much I loved his tie and he said purple was his favorite color. We did the exam–which took no time at all–and he pronounced everything “awesome.” I asked about my yearly CT Scan, because the original plan in 2015 had been yearly ct scans every July, and yearly paps every January. This last January he said paps every TWO years…and this week he said he saw no reason for a CT. I said I thought it was yearly CT’s and paps every 2 years. He said “no reason to do paps unless there are symptoms” and basically the same for the CT scan. He said my exams have been perfect and without symptoms, he didn’t see a reason to do the scan. I don’t know if their policies have changed due to new information or what, but it was kind of stressful to hear that they wouldn’t be following me as closely as I had been told. I said I was a little concerned about not doing a CT, but that I understood getting a CT subjected me to radiation (which can actually cause cancer), so the choice wasn’t cut and dry. He said it was my choice, we could do one now or talk again next year. He said recurrences happen most often in the first two years, but even that was a low number (he said 10% but I’d read 15%). But again, he was happy to give me a referral if I wanted the CT. I asked for the referral but said I’d think about my options.

I discussed this with Hub and with T, and in the end I think I’m going to get the CT scan. I’m too worried about all the bits inside that he can’t see or touch, where cancer could be growing without any symptoms or pain. (My mother had cancer recurrence and she had no physical symptoms that she spoke of.) If I didn’t do the CT when I could have and then something happened, I’d beat myself up something fierce. And since “ct scan radiation causes cancer” is actually NOT something they can prove scientifically–it’s a guessing game because they can’t subject people to CT’s to see if they get cancer–I’ll be taking what is an unknown risk versus the actual risk of missing something growing.

I’ll be waiting until after the wedding to do the scan so it doesn’t make me feel lousy or sick this week when I have so much to do. And I’ll have the relief of knowing there was nothing to be seen that could have been seen.

Two year cancer check achievement unlocked.

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Two year cancer update

  1. easyweimaraner

    July 24, 2017 at 1:22 am

    I would do the same… if you have even a small “what-if-fear” in your minds it grows bigger and bigger and it can mess up all the joy and the best things… to be sure with doing all checks would be absolutely my choice too.

     
    • meANXIETYme

      July 24, 2017 at 9:39 am

      Yeah, I agree. The what-if fears are highly present and being able to do SOMETHING to assuage them will be helpful.

       
  2. joey

    July 24, 2017 at 8:21 am

    I agree with both you and the above comment.
    Congratulations 🙂 They HAVE changed a lot of the schedules. I had a pelvic instead of a pap and get to do that another year as well. During, the doctor told me about how they’ve reduced the sample times on slides due to too many false positives.
    She also told me they no longer make girls climb up in stirrups for a pap at some early age, and they can now wait for paps until they’re 21 or sexually active, unless something comes up that requires further examination. I thought that was a nice new guideline compared to when we were young.

     
    • meANXIETYme

      July 24, 2017 at 9:42 am

      Thanks!

      Yeah, I know they change schedules, I just didn’t think it would happen within the two years since my surgery and diagnosis. I was surprised, especially since I hadn’t heard or read anything about it. I did know that false positives were an issue with lots of cancer testing, I guess I assumed that was for people who had never been diagnosed. I thought for cancer survivors they would be more aggressive with testing…

       
      • joey

        July 24, 2017 at 1:27 pm

        I understand your fear, I do.

         

Leave a Reply

 
