RSS

Jet plane, night 2, day 3

30 May

Recap of night 1, day 2.

I stayed up reading last night until about 1 am, then fell asleep. Then I was up at 5:45 am and that was it, I was up for the day. I tried to fall back asleep, but couldn’t. I finally got out of bed at 7:30 and fed the dogs, then took them out. Then I went back to bed but was too restless to even doze. I had to be out of the house by 9:30 for my massage, so I just gave up and got dressed at 8:30.

I thought the massage would be good and relaxing–since I did ask for a relaxing massage and not trigger point–but I kind of felt icky and my head felt real stuffy and swollen when I was on my stomach. And my face felt swollen in the face rest thingy. Afterward I was so tired that I had trouble driving home. Then I had to feed the dogs their mid-day meal and take them out. I had hoped to rest after that, but it didn’t work out. I tried reading and watching TV, but the dogs kept wanting to go out so I kept having to get up.

On and off I IM’d with Hub as he was running errands and getting things ready for the wedding. He’s getting kind of irritated with his father at this point. They don’t really get along too well on a regular basis, and their politics are polar opposite. So Hub is feeling edgy and unhappy. He still has to get through tomorrow without going crazy, then tomorrow night late he gets on the plane to come home overnight.

Okay, so I did the dinner thing and fed the dogs and retrieved a wedding invitation from my mailbox from my cousin. I went to check in on my father to see if he got his invitation, then to remind him he needed to try on his suit, in case he needed to buy a new one. Then I came home, I took the dogs out, did their after dinner snacky, took them out again, then sat down to read and play some games on my iPad. I was able to stretch out the evening so I only had to take the dogs out again at 10pm before bedtime. So at 10pm I take them downstairs and outside. One goes one way, the other goes the other way, so I stand just off the deck on our small paver patio to wait for them. Then I see Le Moo sniffing at something on the patio about 3 feet away from me…and I step closer to take another look. It’s cicada time here, so I was thinking it was a live cicada and she was going to try to eat it–experience speaking here–and I was prepared to admonish her. And then I realized it wasn’t a cicada.

It was a goddamn fucking snake.

On my patio, right off my deck, right outside my back door. Last Friday I beat a smaller snake to death out in the yard after I nearly walked on it while picking up dog poop. Fortunately, I spotted it while still about six inches away and I hotfooted it back to the house and grabbed the hard metal rake that had been sitting on the deck. I found the snake in the yard again–out toward the back closer to the fence and the “woods” back there–and I beat that fucker to death. It took me like five minutes because the damn thing wouldn’t die…I think because there are ruts in the grass out there so I wasn’t getting good contact with it. When I was sure it was dead I used the rake to pick it up and I threw it out over the fence into the brush. I hurt my arms, my back, and the back of my legs trying to kill it.

Okay, so back to tonight. The damn snake is on the patio, brazen as you please, bigger than the one from Friday–at least 2 feet long–head up, glaring at Le Moo. Le Moo starts backing away and I order her to go up onto the deck. But Butthead is out on the other side of the snake in the yard, peeing, and she finishes and comes running back and she always runs on the patio. And of course she has to run right past the snake, which she does, but then she does a double-take and goes back… and I’m screaming at her to get away from the damn snake and she’s sniffing right at it because she’s STOOPID. So I finally order her away and both dogs into the house, and I rush into the garage to get a shovel…but by the time I get back outside the fucker is GONE. So now it’s either in the bushes right up against the house and next to the patio, or it’s in the grass somewhere.

So now I gotta go back out there tomorrow, wondering where it is. Is it lurking in the bushes? In the grass? Is it gonna jump out and BITE ME or the dogs? I don’t like killing things. Friday was the first time I’d ever killed a snake…or probably anything other than ants and spiders. Before that, Hub had killed two of them since we’ve lived in this house. We’ve never had snake problems before we moved here. I’m not happy about killing anything. But…

I hate snakes.

I have nightmares about snakes attacking me and biting me and all kindsa shit. I’m NOT good with snakes in my yard. Yes, I know they keep rodents away. Yes, I understand that the snakes in my yard are not likely to be venomous. Yes, I even understand they are not likely to actually bite unless threatened… but guys, it’s a goddamn snake and I am afraid of snakes. I’d rather let the owls and the hawks take care of the rodents and let the snakes go somewhere else. ANYWHERE ELSE. AWAY FROM HERE.

I ordered snake repellent from Amazon, to be delivered sometime tomorrow. It’s not likely to help, I’m aware, but I’m desperate to try anything to keep these things away from the house. I mean hey, live your life out there in the woods Snakey-snakey…just not here in my yard or on my patio or in the goddamn bushes next to my house.

So yeah, day 3 is done. I am managing but I’m damn tired. And I’m not looking forward to the snake nightmares tonight, or the anxiety of watching out for snakes tomorrow in real life. Ugh,

Tomorrow’s notes.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Jet plane, night 2, day 3

  1. joey

    May 31, 2017 at 10:25 am

    Damn!
    My husband and my mother are like that about snakes. I really don’t get it, with any of you, but I’m supposing your experiences have been different than mine, and it doesn’t really matter, because I HATE centipedes like you hate snakes, and I don’t think fear cares about rationality, hm? Gives me the heebie-jeebies somethin fierce!
    My dog would kill a snake, I’m certain of it, but I also predict she’d get up close and sniff it first. Gah.
    I haven’t seen a dangerous snake outdoors in Indianapolis for many years — Last I recall I was SIX. But out in the country… yeah.
    I’m sorry you got injured in the process Friday. Even worse, relaxy massage didn’t seem to be relaxy!
    Come home Hubs! There are SNAKES! 😛

     
    • meANXIETYme

      May 31, 2017 at 10:36 am

      If the snake were moving, I would guess that Butthead would go RUNNING in the other direction but Le Moo would try to kill it. But it wasn’t moving, it was just sitting there. Being snake-y and shit. I’m sure it wasn’t more dangerous than possibly biting, but fo sho’ I don’t wanna get bit and I don’t want the dogs to get bit. Like I said, if it would have stayed out in the woodsy area on the other side of the fence, then live and let live. But don’t be in my yard. And yeah, centipedes skeeve me out, but I’m not afraid of being attacked by one. 😉

      I think I was probably too hyper-aware for the massage. Lesson learned…I have enjoyed her relaxing massages in the past, but this was just not a good time.

      And tomorrow! TOMORROW morning his flight arrives. OMG Tomorrow…I might sing it at some point today. 🙂

       
      • joey

        May 31, 2017 at 10:47 am

        Oh that’s so nice. Coming to a close. The many adventures of Anonymouse…

        I feel the same about stuff staying where it belongs. Mmhm.

         
      • meANXIETYme

        May 31, 2017 at 10:58 am

        I went back to bed this morning after feeding the dogs, hoping that I could sleep the hours away. Butthead had other ideas… *sigh*

        But soooooon!

         

Leave a Reply

 
