RSS

Jet plane, day 1

28 May

We dropped Hub off this morning at 4:15am for his flight. After I got home and let the dogs out, I instant messaged with Hub until he boarded the plane at 5:45. By then I’d already fed the dogs and gotten back into bed. I dozed for a few hours, then got up and went about my day. For the most part I felt like Hub was at work and I allowed myself to just be that way. I’ve almost read two books and I pretty much had movies on the TV all day, although mostly they were movies I’d already seen. I had Mama Mia! on the TV maybe three times at random points through the movie, because I like singing those songs and they passed the time more easily. Hairspray was on at least once, too.

I’ve done okay for most of the day. Unfortunately, around 9:30pm tonight, Butthead freaked out and had her tail tucked under and was barking hysterically while backing her way into the bedroom where I was reading and watching TV. I went out into the hallway and checked all the rooms up here (she refused to follow me and instead ran down the stairs), but I have no idea what her major malfunction was. I took them out in the darkness, but luckily it was a little rainy, so both dogs ran out and peed and ran right back to the door to go in. So we kind of settled into the bedroom at that point and after some treats and wandering around, they both have settled in. I suspect they are also exhausted from starting their day at 3am.

I’ve talked to Hub twice on the phone and a few more times on instant messenger. He seems to be okay but the last we talked about an hour ago, he was sounding just exhausted. I hope he’s going to sack out soon, even though it’s pretty early in the evening out there. He said he kept moving his legs around on the plane, even though first class wasn’t as roomy as he’d hoped, and that he felt okay when he deboarded. Is that a word? Deboarded? What else do they call it? Anyway, he says he felt okay and when I talked to him later he said he was feeling okay just tired from the long day.

I was happy to hear from my SIL by phone (I couldn’t figure out the damn facetime thing through FB’s messenger) after she opened my gift to her for her wedding. I crocheted her a blanket that turned out to be about queen size (the pic below is spread out on a king size guest bed) in these amazing colors that made me think of her. Hub’s father said she has walls in her house painted in yellow and orange, so I found this awesome yarn and went to town. Took me several months (and a lot of pain) to get the blanket done, but apparently she loved it a lot. Made me feel like the work was worth it.

20170408_093746

I saw my father earlier when I took the dogs out this afternoon and he reminded me that I could stay at his house overnight or whatever. I said I was going to try to stay home, but if I had any issue I would just hike over there with the dogs and stay there. Around 8:30pm tonight he called to see how I was doing and how my day had gone. Then he reminded me that if I had any trouble I should just let myself into his house no matter what time it was. Then he gave me his late-night schedule so I would know how late he would be awake, but then he told me again to just come over whenever I need to.

I’m not sure if I’ll be able to sleep tonight or not. I still have some reading left in my second book of the day and a youtube video to watch for a channel I subscribe to. I dunno…I’m locked in the bedroom with the dogs and I’m sure I’m safe (even though I’m kind of worried that I locked the bedroom door and if someone needs to get in here to rescue me for some reason the locked door will be an issue), but it’s still weird. I kind of hope I’ll be tired enough to fall asleep at some point.

I had my regular soup for lunch and leftover takeout for dinner, so eating wasn’t a major issue today. I have more takeout again for tomorrow night’s dinner if I want it, and I (pressure) cooked up a fresh pot of my lunch-soup this morning so I have enough for the rest of the week. It’s boring, but I eat soup most days of the week for lunch because it means I don’t have to think about it. I dump it in a bowl, add some sauteed mushrooms, and nuke it…easy-peasy no thinking. Also, the soup is bean soup, so it’s pretty healthy…protein and fiber and veggies and carbs, all-in-one.

That’s pretty much it for today. One down, three more to go.

Next installment…

 
8 Comments

Posted by on May 28, 2017 in anxiety, Butthead, control, dad, dogs, fear, food, hub, love, sleep, stress, time, tired

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Jet plane, day 1

  1. joey

    May 29, 2017 at 12:02 am

    Woot! Day One dowwwwwn! Now the night. May I suggest you do not watch any scary shows or read any horror books? Heh.
    I love the blanket. It looks light and snuggly and yes, oh so cheerful!
    It’s midnight and suddenly I want some soup — mmm, like pasta e fagioli. That’s so not going to happen, lol!
    I’ll be here tomorrow, hope you check in 🙂

     
    • meANXIETYme

      May 29, 2017 at 12:07 am

      Yeah, now the night. And NO I won’t be watching any scary shows or reading any horror books. Fortunately, I don’t do that on a normal day, so avoiding it now is easy-as-pie. Now you want pie, don’t you? 😉

      Thanks, I really liked the blanket. I mean, the colors aren’t what I have in my house, but they’re really very happy and the blanket is so soft and drape-y.

      Mmmm, pasta e fagioli. YUM. Wish I had some of that, too. But sadly, no, my soup is more boring than that…vegetarian split pea. But it’s my fave and when I put the sauteed mushrooms in there…baby bellas, shitake, oyster…SO MUCH YUM.

       
      • joey

        May 29, 2017 at 12:16 am

        Right on.
        Even though I shopped quick with Moo yesterday while Sassy had a lesson, I came home to find out we need tissue, cat litter, and OMG, we can’t remember what now… so I’ll prolly go AGAIN. Ugh.
        I do not want pie. I want savories. lol

         
      • meANXIETYme

        May 29, 2017 at 12:20 am

        I could do with some buttered popcorn. But enh, it’s too late and I’m too tired, so maybe tomorrow. We laid in a bunch of food for the week so I would have enough in the house while Hub was gone and then enough to feed him when he gets home at the end of the week without going back to the store.

        And also, out of coffee and cat litter and tissue is all not good. Sorry you gotta go back, but those are necessities!

         
      • joey

        May 29, 2017 at 12:28 am

        Truly 🙂 Thanks!
        I like knowin you’re stocked-up.

         
      • joey

        May 29, 2017 at 12:17 am

        COFFEE! We’re almost outta coffee! :O

         
  2. marianallen

    May 29, 2017 at 11:05 am

    NOW I WANT POPCORN! But I’m baking bread to take to #2 Daughter’s cookout this afternoon, so that’ll do. 🙂 Glad Day #1 went well. You’re doing great!

     
    • meANXIETYme

      May 29, 2017 at 11:12 am

      LOL Enjoy your fresh-baked bread and all the fun food at the cookout!
      And thanks! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
