RSS

Bad bactrim bust

11 May

So here’s the history on my sinus infection and the antibiotics I was prescribed.

I’ve taken 8 days of bactrim, 2 pills a day. After the 2nd full day, I have been able to take the pills without having Hub sit with me for an hour. Today I took it after he left for work so I was home alone! I have four little shitty pills left in the container. In addition to all the stuff I’ve previously talked about–including HORRENDOUS heartburn/reflux–I’m now getting itchy. Mild but diffuse. My head, my arms, my back, my legs, my face, my hands, my ears…all little creepy crawly itchy spots. No rash, thank goodness, but itchy.

The heartburn has given me pain in my stomach in addition to chest-heartburn pain, throat burning, inflamed throat-feeling, and it has given me the GERD cough.

I called the doctor’s office twice, and both times I pushed the button to “speak to a staff member” and both times I literally let the phone ring for 3-4 minutes before hanging up. I left a message for my doctor in my online portal, but sometimes they don’t respond to that for a day or two. I ended up calling back and pressing the button for scheduling. The woman who answered said they are really busy (great excuse) but she took the message for me and forwarded it to my doctor’s office. She said either the doctor would call me back or her nurse would.

I do not want to take another pill. I’m concerned this is the beginning of an allergic reaction with hives and the whole schmear. As it is, it’s going to take 3-4 days for the medication to get out of my system…I could possibly still get hives or more itching during that time. The problem is, I don’t want to  have to start over with another antibiotic. Bleh. I’m crossing my fingers that the doctor says 8 days is enough for now and to see how I feel in a week or two.

The smell SEEMS to be abating somewhat, but it’s not GONE. I hope it gets gone because it’s still really irritating. I’m half concerned that I’m getting used to the smell and won’t be able to tell if it’s really gone or not.

SO the doctor’s nurse just called me back. She asked if I had a rash or hives with the itching and I said NO. She said that itching is a side effect of bactrim, and as long as there’s no hives or rash, I can try to finish the last four pills. She said that an actual allergic reaction would include hives or a rash, versus just itching. She recommended benedryl to help with the itching. I don’t take benedryl–or anything if I can help it–so I haven’t decided what to do yet. I haven’t had itching overnight, so I might try to take another AB dose tonight and see how it goes. I mean, I only have FOUR PILLS (two days) left, I don’t want to start all over with a new course of antibiotics if I don’t have to.

But maybe I’m going to ask them to put bactrim on my no-no list from here forward.

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

13 responses to “Bad bactrim bust

  1. joey

    May 11, 2017 at 7:45 pm

    Ugh. I’ve had the itching, no rash, no hives before. You have my heartfelt sympathy. I say finish your days and soak in oatmeal baths and bathe in oatmeal lotion after — or whatever feels good. I DO take Benadryl, on top of my Zyrtec and Flonase, so I know it’s not as bad for me, but it still sucks.
    So sorry. :/

     
    • meANXIETYme

      May 11, 2017 at 7:58 pm

      I might have to use some lotion for some spots, but otherwise there are too many itches to use lotion. I’d be greasy from head-to-toe!
      I’m down to three pills, so I have my fingers crossed to make it through…

       
      • joey

        May 11, 2017 at 8:58 pm

        I wish you the best!
        I’m an ashy beast. If I don’t oil up, I look like an albino raisin 😉

         
      • meANXIETYme

        May 11, 2017 at 9:22 pm

        My hands look like that all year round, unless I’m consistent with the eucerin eczema relief every night. Which, of course, I am not consistent. Cuz why would I be? 😉

         
      • joey

        May 12, 2017 at 6:55 am

        Heh.

         
  2. easyweimaraner

    May 12, 2017 at 2:17 am

    I hope it works and you are over and done with it after the last four pills…. hugs to you and crossed paws&fingers…

     
    • meANXIETYme

      May 12, 2017 at 10:07 am

      Thanks! Just took a pill, so TWO LEFT!

       
  3. April

    May 12, 2017 at 10:20 am

    I hope you feel better. Sometimes the cure seems worse than the original health problem. One of my cats has an antibiotic resistant UTI. She was acting fine, eating fine, playing as well as any 18 year old cat can play. The vet insisted she needed her old lady check and they found bacteria which is resistant…..so they tried Bactrim. I got two doses down my cat and she hasn’t been the same since.

     
    • meANXIETYme

      May 12, 2017 at 10:28 am

      I am never trusting of medications, unfortunately. I am sorry to hear about your cat…so frustrating when they can’t talk to us or give their opinion on what they want/need. 😦

       
      • April

        May 12, 2017 at 10:38 am

        My primary doctor’s answer to everything is a prescription. I tell her no but she sends me off with a piece of paper that I go home and shred…..unless I feel absolutely horrible and to the point I would take anything to feel better. I’m glad I didn’t listen to the doctor to go on antibiotics for the cancerous lung nodule he found. *eye roll*

         
      • meANXIETYme

        May 12, 2017 at 10:41 am

        Yeah, my trust in doctor’s is pretty low after all the years of being ill. It’s a really hard place to be in, not knowing enough to care for your own health alone but not trusting the doctor’s to a) know YOU vs everyone else b) know what they are actually saying. Bleh.

         
      • April

        May 15, 2017 at 11:17 am

        I agree. I’m having the same issue with our veterinarian. We will have to take a second mortgage out just to pay that bill….and the cat is still sick.

         
      • meANXIETYme

        May 15, 2017 at 11:29 am

        Ugh. I’m so sorry about your cat. 😦

         

Leave a Reply

 
