RSS

Bactrim blues

08 May

So I’ve taken six pills so far for what my doctor diagnosed as a sinus infection.  I wanted to make note of what has been happening with the bactrim, at least for my future reference. Here’s what my historical experience prepared me for:

Upon getting my ABs, I come home and go look up my blog post from when I had to take these particular ABs, and I apparently have nausea, bad taste in my mouth, and dry mouth (editing to add, and dry/itchy eyes near to the end of the course of ABs) to look forward to for ten days at least. Two pills a day over ten days.

I’m definitely getting a lot of heartburn/acid reflux. My appetite is nil and the nausea is there for sure. My stomach hurts almost all the time, but that could also be from the acid reflux/heartburn. What is also a bit distressing is that last night before dinner (after the 4th pill at 9:30am that morning), I had a really bad hot flush on my face and ear, and I had anxiety. I’m not sure if the anxiety came from the hot flush or from the ABs. So I took another pill this morning at about the same time as yesterday…and tonight the hot flush started again before dinner. I didn’t even wait this time, I just got a cold pack and put it on my face until I was pretty well frozen. I didn’t get the anxiety, but I also stopped the hot flush early on, so maybe I stopped the anxiety before it started.

There’s no discernible change in the smell issue, yet. I’ve been trying to use different essential oils to distract myself from the smell (I just realized I had some good oils downstairs I could use…brown sugar and vanilla!), but it doesn’t last long.

Last night we invited my father over for dinner since my brother (the one that lives with him) is out of town for several days. Then tonight we went out for burgers with him and my other brother. Tomorrow Dad’s going to the grocery store with us in the morning, basically because he’s tired of being stuck in the house alone. He and I talked about how hard it is to be alone in the house all the time (while his house-mate is out of town), and I told him how concerned I am about being alone when Hub goes away. I told him I might end up sleeping there at night and he said if I did then they would be able to help me with the dogs in the early morning hours. I said I’d let him know. I’ve been going out for walks every day and when I get to his house, I call him to tell him to send his dog into the yard with us…sometimes he comes out to chat at that point. It’s hard because I used to do this to go hang out with Mom…and it’s not as easy to find things to talk about with Dad all the time. But I’m trying t keep up with the walking outside, so if he wants to chat with me he’ll have the opportunity.

I’m really tired of feeling so crappy. I want to regain my energy. I want to move forward.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Bactrim blues

  1. joey

    May 8, 2017 at 12:22 pm

    I sure do hope you get to feelin better soon. I remember you do the kefir and take probiotics, yeah? Try slipping some apple cider vinegar into some ice water? I swear by it for reflux. Supposedly it’s doing a million great things for me, but the only one I can detect is killing heartburn and reflux. I haven’t bought Tums in… well over a year.
    I like you’re getting out walking the dogs, and even if y’all don’t have great conversation, I’m sure it’s good for your dad, too. Sounds like sleeping there if need be would be at least a partial fix to some of this anxiety about being alone and caring for the puppies.
    Despite the content of this post, you sound a bit more up 🙂

     
    • meANXIETYme

      May 8, 2017 at 12:38 pm

      I have to get more kefir tonight, and I take a probiotic every day, yes’m. I’ve used apple cider in the past for throat issues, but not consistently for reflux. It always burns my throat so I don’t know how it’s going to feel. I’ll try it today, thanks.

      Yeah, I don’t know if my father will want to chat with me every day, but the idea of being able to see him physically more often is a good thing. Even if it’s him waving from the back door when he lets the dog out.

      Some moments I feel more up, some I feel more down. I can’t seem to get on a consistent mood/feeling. I’m not like waaaaaaaay down and waaaaaaaay up, it just feels like sometime I’m so tired I can’t deal and other times I feel like I can handle things. And I never know which will show up at any point in the day.

       
      • joey

        May 8, 2017 at 12:44 pm

        There’s gratitude in not having big swings, but never pleasant to feel unreliably moody. :/
        Yes, do try. Make sure it’s the one with the mother in it. I do it before bed religiously, but also if I’m smart, before I eat anything spicy. I believe it’s a thing to be maintained, as in it works better when I continue regularly.

         
      • meANXIETYme

        May 8, 2017 at 12:46 pm

        Yes, we have the Braggs ACV with the mother in it! Thanks.

        I appreciate your comments, as always, Joey.

         
      • joey

        May 8, 2017 at 12:47 pm

        😀

         

Leave a Reply

 
