RSS

Hairy update

22 Feb

I have so much to write about and absolutely no interest in writing any of it.

sigh

What I’m hyper-focused on right now is my poor hair. Guys, I went to an Aveda salon and spent a shit-ton of money. SHIT-TON. Like yeah. Like WTF was I thinking shit-ton of money. It’s now about four weeks out from the coloring and I’m pretty disappointed on a couple of fronts. The main thing that upsets me is that my hair feels bad. Not emotionally, but physically. I’ve never had such crappy feeling wet hair in my LIFE. It feels like brillo when it’s wet, and I can’t hardly comb through it after I wash and condition. I’ve had my hair colored before by salons…I’ve box-dyed my hair. I’ve never had my hair feel like this before. WTF. It’s frizzy as hell when it’s dry–which isn’t incredibly unusual for me–but it’s also DRY. Like so dry it makes me sad. None of my fancy shampoos and conditioners are working. Argan oil didn’t help. Coconut oil hair mask didn’t help. Aloe vera mask didn’t help. Tomorrow I’m going to Ulta to try to find another type of shampoo and conditioner. I’m pissed at how much money I’ve spent on hair care to try to repair whatever the frufru was done to my poor follicles.

I particularly picked the Aveda salon because it was supposed to be gentle, plant-based, organic, safer hair color. Don’t get me wrong, I really like the stylist, but I’m disappointed in the results.

I’m also disappointed in the color retention. My hair is basically orange (which Hub lovingly tells me it’s “copper”), red, and then sort of white-ish-gray-ish-green-ish (from the washed out blues). There’s some red leftover on the upper areas which started out purple but mostly just washed out to reddish. Then there’s kind of the original brown with tinges of dark auburn where the darkest of purple was.

I’ve spent hours since the first post-color week passed looking over instagram posts while trying not to be jealous. At this point, I’ve begun to understand that those instagram posts are kind of manipulated to look the way they do. I mean, when they took my pictures, they made me go outside to get good light. The stylist posted a VERY photoshopped (filtered?) version of one of the pictures on her instagram (which I think looked pretty crappy) instead of using one of the ones  you saw on my previous post. Inside the salon, the colors were different…and after a week they were totally different. I mean, I knew the colors would wash out somewhat, but I think because we started with lighter colors (not my choice…I wanted jewel toned purples and blues) they washed out to almost nothing really fast. All the bright color that was hidden underneath is gone, too.

I’m not sure I have a good concept of how bad my hair color really looks. I want to go somewhere to get it “fixed” but I feel like it’s in shitty condition and I don’t want to make it worse. I mean, I know I sound dramatic and all, and honestly I’m sort of just complaining because in the grand scheme it’s HAIR and it’s really fine and I just mostly put it up and no one pays attention anyway… I’m just disappointed. You guys would be horrified to know how much I spent for hair color that barely lasted a week (and I only washed my hair twice in that week to try to maintain the color). I’m honestly horrified at what I spent. I feel like if I spent that much and my hair feels this shitty damage-wise, what will happen if I go to a less expensive place to get it “color corrected”??

Enjoy my updated photos. I’m ONLY doing this because I wish I had seen updated photos on instagram. 😦 Then maybe I would have gone into this with full knowledge of what would be…

20170221_16120120170221_161357

Remember the glory of what was?

Bleh.

February has just been…shitty. I’ve used that word a lot in this post, haven’t I? I’ll have to write more posts, because I’ve been exhausted and sick and had an urgent care + ER visit and doctor’s visit x2 and a big anxiety attack and a persistently puking dog and running to the vet and… and yeah, I’ve been in a lot of physical pain to cap it all off. Plus my new glasses gave me a migraine with visual aura–which I’ve only had once in my life and it was 10 years ago. So I sent them back and picked up the “fixed” version on Friday and they’re STILL not right. Ugh.

I’m going to bed. Me and my fluffy frizzy orangey hair. Nite nite.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Hairy update

  1. easyweimaraner

    February 23, 2017 at 12:59 am

    I agree with you february was more a sh*t-uary ;o( hugs to you, hope that march comes in like a lion and gives us a little of its power. And february was a hairy month, yes. I saw a tutorial yesterday how to cut bangs at home… I’ve tried it… let’s say I’m glad for the bad weather, so I can wear a cap. It ended as an epic fail…oh man :O(((

     
    • meANXIETYme

      February 23, 2017 at 9:00 am

      Oh jeez. I’ve watched so many different hair tutorials…but I am not brave enough to attempt cutting my own hair! I’m sorry your cut didn’t go well. Why do we do these things to ourselves?

      It’s hot here already so wearing a hat isn’t in my cards. But if I twist the back of my hair up in a clip it hides most of my mess.

      I wish us all a better month to come. And fast hair growth!

       
      • easyweimaraner

        February 23, 2017 at 9:04 am

        thanks :o) yes…why we do this things… that’s what I ask my since last night hahahaha… omg it looks as if I had done it with a lawn mower… maybe I should put some manure on my hair that is grows faster LOL

         
      • meANXIETYme

        February 23, 2017 at 9:08 am

        Lol. Stinky!

        I watched some tutorials that said rubbing aloe onto your scalp helps hair growth. Plain aloe, not lotion with aloe in it. No clue if that’s for real or not!

        Maybe if you dye your choppy bangs a bright color (temporary dye) it will look like you cut them like that on purpose!!

         
  2. joey

    February 23, 2017 at 9:29 am

    Damn. So sorry.
    Imma write a LOT now.

    Okay, I would have suggested coconut oil, so I’m shocked it didn’t help. Try putting in the coconut oil about an hour before bed and sleeping in it. (If you can bear it.) Try not shampooing as long as possible.
    BUT, if I’d known your hair was like mine, I could have warned you that bad things may happen. It’s a texture thing. I’ve observed this over the years.
    Some people have naturally porous hair and while it takes color well, it dries it out badly. The hairs tend to be naturally fine and curlier. (People who are described as having thin hair and lots of it.)
    I was strawberry blonde in the summer of 95. It looked fantastic for about 2 weeks. It took 9 months of sleeping in conditioner and hot oil treatments, salon masks, and coloring with semi-permanent to get it close to normal again. I call it the summer of bad hair, but really, it was about a year. It’s not that it looked bad all the time, but it felt like NOT MY HAIR. Eventually, I got it bobbed and that’s why I won’t do anything beyond my natural color or a wisp of highlights. I learned the hard way that my hair is not agreeable to heavy processing.
    Then there are people with nice lie-down hair, maybe straight, maybe a bit of wave, and their hair is not porous. It’s thicker in texture and not even a bit fragile. These people can basically torture their hair and it will still feel like their hair. Moo and her shampoo model hair, hm? I have plenty of friends in this category. Many women of colorful hairs.
    However, because I know these people, I am also aware of the upkeep. The CONSTANT upkeep. So when my Sassy, with hair like ours, tells me she wants blue hair, I refuse. I let her get highlights, I let her die the underside dark brown. I draw the line at double processing. Cause I know, in a way I can’t explain to her, that in a week’s time with blue, her hair will be gray with weird coppery strands here and there. It will feel like straw. It will take a long time to repairl it. And I’m the one who will be spending time and money to fix it. Best I can offer is to let her get the ends colored so she can chop it off when it goes to crap. BTW It is really hard to explain any of this to a teenager with Instagram, lol!

    Anyway, I am so sorry your gorgeous locks have been tortured. It was so pretty while it lasted. :/ I totally empathize. (((HUGS)))

     
    • meANXIETYme

      February 23, 2017 at 9:36 am

      I appreciate your A LOT of writin’. The thing is, I’ve had my hair colored in the past and never come up with this issue. Normally when I get my hair colored it’s softer and smoother than it was un-colored. I have never understood why. At this point either everything has changed because I’ve lost all my hormones by being scooped out, or being old, or it was THEIR chemicals that did this. I have no way to know what is the right answer.

      I left the coconut oil on only about an hour before washing it out. I’ll get me a shower cap and do an overnight soak and see how that goes.

      And yes, it’s not that it looks too much different when dry, but it just feels gross. And it feels SO GROSS when it’s wet, and I can’t get a comb through it even with conditioner slathered all over it. It’s so not my hair!

      Unfortunately it’s going to take me forever to grow this out. My hair grows so slowly, so Imma have to figure out how to deal with it somehow….and cutting it off (oh the trauma!) is NOT an option. Nuh uh, no way. *sigh*

      I hope the ladies at Ulta don’t attack me when I walk in the door. I hate going there, but they let you return stuff if it doesn’t work so I’m going!

      Also, stupid instagram!

       
      • joey

        February 23, 2017 at 10:11 am

        It may have been the kind of chemicals, that’s valid. I know when I color with ColorSilk my hair is smoother than after Excellence… there’s a factor there…

        I think you should contact the stylist and see what she says. She may be able to fix or at least improve? I got those 6 months of salon masks for free. No confession over error, but I did get the salon masks and trims…

        Best wishes!

         
      • meANXIETYme

        February 23, 2017 at 10:36 am

        Good thought. I figured after a month they wouldn’t care but maybe she will. Thanks!

         

Leave a Reply

 
