RSS

Post colonoscopy refresh

13 Dec

Well, here I am, back on my recliner trying to recover from the last two days. The last five days?

The prep, while not as bad as it was for my surgeries, still sucked. I would definitely use this prep again in the future because it was less liquid to drink, and most of the liquid required was plain water. Also, it was split into two days, so that made things easier all around.

The colonoscopy, as everyone said, was the easiest part of the whole thing. The anxiety before (and now some after), is harder. The prep is harder. The half hour before going in is harder. Screw that, the hour before going in is harder. I still feel woozy-ish from some of the drugs, but I also think some of that is the lack of nutrition I’ve had over the last five days. I’m trying to go slowly back into food, both last night and today, so my intake is still smaller than normal. So I’m tired, I’m woozy-ish, and I’m anxious a bit.

Why anxious?

Well, let’s talk about the second worst part of yesterday (the prep was pretty bad for TMI reasons)… We get to the procedure center a few minutes early and checked in. They took me back only a few minute later than I had expected but not bad, really. I go to the bathroom one last time and they take me into a curtained cube area. There are seriously like 12 or 14 beds in this whole pre- and post-procedure area. It started feeling a lot like a cattle call. Get ’em in and get ’em out. So I get into my designated cube area and I undress and pull on my lovely gown, open in the back of course. I tuck my bagged clothes under the gurney as instructed and I get onto the gurney. I’m there about ten seconds and I get an excruciating abdominal muscle spasm. I start gasping and I hear the nurse on the other side of the curtain “you okay, hon?” So I say “uh” and she comes in and I tell her what’s happening. She seems sympathetic but not entirely interested. Says it’s probably from the prep and could she please have my arm to get my blood pressure? I tell her my BP is going to be through the roof because I’m in terrible pain and she just takes my arm and hooks me up. Shortly after taking my BP (which was high, of course), I get another spasm, and then another, and then another. It’s so painful and I want to cry and go home and I want Hub but the nurse says I’m up next and there’s no time for Hub to come back. I’m clutching my stomach and there’s a huge hard baseball sized lump under my skin and she’s asking for my OTHER arm so she can get the IV in. She promises to tell the doctor about the spasm but doesn’t seem distressed. Finally, the spasm gives up and the IV is in and the anesthesiologist comes in to talk to me. Then the doctor comes in and I tell him about something else and then alert him to the spasm. “Probably from the prep” he tells me.

If it’s the prep, then why have I had them before? If it’s not the prep, was it dehydration? I don’t know, honestly, and I doubt I’ll ever know WTF they’re from. What I know is, they hurt like a motherfucker and having four in a row was so painful that I was actually GLAD to be getting anesthesia. (Maybe it was dehydration and being slumped over on the toilet for two days. Hmm…)

Even after the colonoscopy, last night, and today, my stomach is so sore from the spasm. Cramp? Maybe it’s a cramp. Stomach charlie horse? I have no idea. But moving at all is uncomfortable because that muscle is apparently involved in every-damn-thing I do. And of course the fear that it’s going to happen again, because it actually takes my breath away it’s so painful and so out-of-the-blue.

Meanwhile, post-colonoscopy, I’m told I was very nice to the nurses and kept thanking people. Literally, as they were putting anesthesia into my IV before the procedure I blurted out to the two nurses “thanks for taking care of me!” and then I was out. So when Hub assured me that I was nice to everyone even before I was really conscious afterward, I said, “Well my mother would be proud of me.” My stomach was really inflated with air from the test, so I was really uncomfortable. They made me go to the bathroom and drink, then Hub helped me get dressed and we left. Less than two hours from when they took me back to when we got out to the car. When we got home, I walked around the main floor of my house and passed air for half an hour. I know that I kept asking Hub questions about what the nurses and doctor said after I “woke up”, but I couldn’t seem to retain the answers at the time. Every time I lapped around near Hub, I would ask him another question that I KNEW I had already asked, but the answers just kept eluding me. After being on my feet for thirty  minutes straight, I was done, so I went upstairs and changed and got into bed with a small container of yogurt to get some probiotics into my system. I had some apple juice, a small omelet and some jello for dinner. After a couple of hours the air seemed to have left my system, so my intestines felt better but my abdomen still hurt from the muscle thing. I was still kind of woozy and out of it, but I managed for the evening.

I didn’t sleep great, but that’s not news. This morning I didn’t want to get out bed, but I did it because I knew I needed to be moving around. And I knew I needed to get eating again, and drinking.

The doctor said they found one small polyp, which they removed and will send for pathology (2 week wait for that). They also found internal hemorrhoids, which I can have treated at a later date if I decide to do so. “A few” external hemorrhoids, too. Otherwise, I’m told there was nothing else of note, and my prep was “good”. Once they get the pathology back, then I’ll hear if I have to go back for my next colonoscopy in five years or in ten. I’m assuming it’s not cancerous, but I don’t know if I’m being naive about that or not. Either way, won’t know for sure until the report comes back.

Onward to my next job for this week…help my dad go through his mortgage refinance on Thursday. It’s supposed to be hella cold, single digits…yay.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 responses to “Post colonoscopy refresh

  1. joey

    December 13, 2016 at 11:07 pm

    Well hurrah that’s over! 😀
    I’m sure your polyp is no reason to freak out, because it is not my polyp, of course 😉

    I have the spasms! I do! And girl, I’ve been hydrated since 2012 <–The last time I was dehydrated. I yoga, I stretch, I'm quite bendy, and I have the spasms. Lately, this stupid flu, and the stupid coughing, THAT was causing spasms, I know, because Moo had them, too. Cough,: Ow.
    But I know it's not all the flu and the coughing, because I've had them for years. Sometimes when I go to bed at night, I'll wriggle and flop trying to not have them. Lawd. So much pain! Brief and yet, persistent. People say age, but not all older people have them. I hate them. You have my sympathy!

     
    • meANXIETYme

      December 13, 2016 at 11:26 pm

      Seriously?? You get these stomach spasms? WTF are they???? Mine is on the left side to the left and slightly above my belly button. Where’s yours??
      I sure hope that polyp is nothing because it IS my polyp and I seem to spend my life making mountains out if mole hills. Jeez I hope I didn’t jinx myself.

       
      • joey

        December 13, 2016 at 11:34 pm

        Yep. Mine are more on the side, between my hip and my bra band. Oh yes. All the time. Like weeks without one and then BOOM! Apropos to anything. 😦

         
      • meANXIETYme

        December 13, 2016 at 11:55 pm

        Wth are they? Just random abdominal Charlie horses? Do you get like a knot there? Like take your breath away pain?
        I am so sorry you get them too. Ugh.

         
      • joey

        December 14, 2016 at 10:10 am

        Yes, sometimes a lil knot forms — that I will try to rub out, sometimes The Mister will help. Yes, take my breath away. Oh yes.

         
      • meANXIETYme

        December 14, 2016 at 10:20 am

        So much UGH. 😦

         
  2. April

    December 14, 2016 at 11:05 am

    Whew. That one is down. Hoping the pathology reports come back good. I hate having mysterious sudden pains. We went to the ER one morning because I was having chest pains. I received a lecture about anxiety and was sent home. I swear, do they think we imagine these types of pain? I’m sorry but a “oh, it’s probably” isn’t good enough for me. That’s what they told me about my lung nodule and wanted me to take antibiotics. I kept pushing until I didn’t hear, “oh, it’s probably” anymore. Keep pushing your doctor. 🙂

     
    • meANXIETYme

      December 14, 2016 at 11:11 am

      I hope the path report is a non-event, too. Fingers crossed.

      And yes, I so agree. These mysterious pains that they can’t figure out (and thus tell us it’s “probably nothing”) are not helpful. Just because they don’t want to deal with us doesn’t mean there’s nothing there. I’m going to talk to my gyn onc surgeon in January to see what he thinks…maybe it’s an adhesion from the surgery, or maybe it is a muscle cramp. Or maybe it’s something else entirely.
      At the very least, I HAVE had an abdominal CT since the first spasm, as well as a physical exam of my abdomen, as well as now a colonoscopy. I’ve had abdominal xray, too. I would think the only things left are ultra sound and exploratory surgery. 😦 Maybe my gyn onc will order an ultra sound to rule out whatever that could possibly find.

       
      • April

        December 14, 2016 at 12:02 pm

        Ultrasound sounds better than exploratory surgery. Hope you get to the root of this pain soon!

         
  3. Bradley

    December 14, 2016 at 1:46 pm

    I had a colonoscopy about two years ago, but I can’t for the life of me remember why. What I do remember, as you mentioned, being with a huge group of people lined up like an assembly line. I’m surprised they didn’t have us on a conveyer belt.

    I hope they find what’s causing your problems. It sounds awful and I hate your having to deal with it.

     
    • meANXIETYme

      December 14, 2016 at 2:09 pm

      The conveyor belt is probably more expensive than the techs who push you around the corner on the gurney into and out of the procedure room(s). LOL
      Thanks, I hope we figure things out, too.

       

Leave a comment