RSS

It might be nothing

02 Aug

Or it might be something. She literally said this to us. “It might be nothing. Or it might be something.”

So my  option is MRI or needle biopsy. I asked her for her preference, she said it could go either way. Needle biopsy only checks that one spot, so other things might be missed. MRI could show more stuff that might potentially be benign but end up requiring further investigation to find out such. As in, false positives.

I had so hoped to hear “Enh, it’s nuthin’. Nice to meet you. Off you go!” I guess they really don’t do that these days.

So now I wait to hear from their scheduler to set up the MRI. And of course, she’s out today. If I don’t hear from her by mid-afternoon tomorrow, I’ll call the office.

I’m not keen on MRIs. The last one I had, I was in the emergency room, and I got ativan both in pill form and intravenously to help with the anxiety. This time the doctor prescribed valium–two pills, one an hour before, the other when I get there if needed–in case I feel I need it. I’m not sure I’d be able to take it. The doctor said the MRI for breasts is different than a regular MRI, in that you are lying on your stomach and your boobs hang through the table. WTH.

So I didn’t get what I had hoped for. And for the moment, what I have is more waiting.

And our a/c froze up again yesterday morning (refrigerant leak that no one can find which means for the past 3+ years we’ve had to recharge our system 2x each summer), so I had to sleep in the family room on the couch. Upstairs felt like outside (90 degree heat index yesterday all day) and I couldn’t breathe just going up there to brush my teeth and change my clothes. The couch was pretty horrendous, so I barely slept. Yet another HVAC company came out to try to seal the system and recharge it again. And they put dye into the system in case the sealant doesn’t work. More $$ out the damn door on this stupid HVAC system.

Ugh.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “It might be nothing

  1. Bradley

    August 2, 2016 at 8:08 pm

    Wow. You’re really going through a rough patch. I’m sorry this has all come on at the same time…or any time.

     
    • meANXIETYme

      August 2, 2016 at 8:20 pm

      Thanks. I’m trying to just keep moving forward. I’m a little freaked out over the MRI because I semi-remember how closed in it felt…and I’m not a small person. I hope I will be able to take the valium and not panic in there.

       
  2. joey

    August 2, 2016 at 10:30 pm

    Dang, Girl. Dang dang dang. Hang through the table?!? Still, I’d probably choose it, with the hopes of avoiding needles altogether. I know a lot of women who had the needles and honestly, it sounds wretched every time I hear another story. And then boob ooze. I just, no. This may be because I have had to take back my breasts and dry them out, lol, but I’d go for the valium and the weird MRI. Truly WTH.

    Sorry about your air. Sucks that you have to maintain it this way. $$$ and couch-sleeping, bleh. I hope you sleep better tonight, in a comfy bed with cool sheets.

     
    • meANXIETYme

      August 2, 2016 at 10:45 pm

      I didn’t know which to pick. In the end the potential of having a good look around (and inside) both boobs seemed like a better idea. I may regret that later if they find more stuff to investigate.
      I’ve talked to a couple of people about the biopsy experience but not on oozy detail. Thanks for that image…
      Yes. I’m in the cool sheets and hoping for sleep.

       
      • joey

        August 2, 2016 at 10:48 pm

        Well I’ll tell you this much…
        *counts*
        9 had it done, 5 mentioned oozy boob, only 1 had a malignancy, and she’s just fine now, been…*counts* seven years now. 🙂

         
      • meANXIETYme

        August 3, 2016 at 9:37 am

        Oozy boob. Fab. We’ll see what happens…if I avoid the needle or not. Still waitin’ on the schedule call.

         

Leave a Reply

 
