RSS

One year scan

10 Jul

Tomorrow is my CT scan for my one year cancer check-up. Bonus, they’re also going to send the pictures to my urologist to see if there’s anything going on with my kidneys that we need to know about.

I’m getting a pelvis, abdomen, and chest scan. I get to drink barium and they’re going to do scans without and with contrast. Yay.

It’s been almost a year since my last scan, where they were looking for enlarged lymph nodes or anything else unusual…I think it was before my surgery, but it might have been before my second surgery. Or just after. I sort of remember the test, mostly because they had a problem with the pump that runs the contrast into your veins and the tech had to come out and fiddle with the pump. Talk about anxiety-provoking. I also remember that it was uncomfortable keeping my arm in position with the IV in it for the contrast. Does anyone ever have an IV that doesn’t hurt when you move your arm? Or hand?

I know the CT scan isn’t invasive. I know the worst part is probably going to be drinking the barium. I know the contrast is going to make me feel warm and flushed and like I have to pee. I know the table is going to be uncomfortable. It’s likely I’ll be done in half an hour if everything goes well. Maybe an hour, since I’m getting with and without contrast (last time it was only WITH). But I don’t remember the test per se…how hard was the table, how difficult was it for me to lay on my back, was I able to prop my head up, did my back hurt, did I feel claustrophobic…etc.

I’m still feeling nervous and anxious. I want it to be over.

I know I’ll come home and not be able to share the experience with Mom. I miss her over and over again. Every time I do something. Every time I want to share something small or silly or happy or sad, I miss her.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “One year scan

  1. easyweimaraner

    July 11, 2016 at 6:10 am

    I hope the ct brings only good news to you…. hugs and crossed paws&fingers…

     
  2. joey

    July 11, 2016 at 11:27 am

    I’m thinking of you, hoping it’s already over. C’mon good scan! 🙂

     
    • meANXIETYme

      July 11, 2016 at 11:43 am

      Not yet. Just drinking the gross barium and waiting for Hub to come home. Another couple of hours and it’ll be over!
      Thanks!

       
      • joey

        July 11, 2016 at 11:48 am

        *crosses fingers*

         
      • meANXIETYme

        July 11, 2016 at 3:01 pm

        Done. Bleh. Barium upset my stomach before the test, so that was fun. Now my arms hurt from being in a weird position and I feel gross. I’m eatin’ gluten free crackers and drinkin’ lots of water.

         
      • joey

        July 11, 2016 at 6:26 pm

        Bleh indeed.
        We buy some rice crackers because they’re tasty, but they happen to be gluten free. They pair nicely with brie and pears 😛
        Hope you’re feelin better now 🙂

         
      • meANXIETYme

        July 11, 2016 at 6:32 pm

        Still not so hot, but I’m slow to recover from stuff. Maybe tomorrow I’ll be feeling better…
        I rarely eat GF crackers but it so happens that there’s one or two that are okay and we had them both in the house!

         
  3. Bradley

    July 11, 2016 at 6:19 pm

    Sorry you’re not feeling so hot after the CT scan. They are not fun and are uncomfortable. Keep with the crackers and water and you should feel better soon.

     
    • meANXIETYme

      July 11, 2016 at 6:31 pm

      Yeah, thanks. I just had a little bit of grilled chicken for dinner so I had some protein, but not much else.

       
  4. April

    July 13, 2016 at 12:10 am

    The ct with contrast dye…a wonderful experience *insert sarcasm*. I hope everything is all clear for you!

     
    • meANXIETYme

      July 13, 2016 at 9:46 am

      Yeah, it was fantastic. My entire body still hurts from being stretched out on the ct table with my arms over my head and the IV in my arm. Yay.

       

Leave a Reply

 
