RSS

New GERD information

18 May

Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease (also called GERD) is the main reason that people start taking PPIs, or proton pump inhibitors, like Prilosec. This research indicates that PPIs and other acid reducing products are not exactly the right way to treat GERD. It’s not the stomach acid that hurts the esophagus, it’s a protein that causes inflammation. Obviously, the article explains this better than I do.

What upsets me is that despite this information, the researchers and doctors are saying that current medications are the way to go for GERD patients. That’s ridiculous, as we’ve all learned that it’s not too much stomach acid that causes problems, it’s TOO LITTLE stomach acid. So taking these PPIs to further reduce stomach acid is the WRONG THING TO DO.

When will doctors wake up and stop feeding the pharmaceutical industry at our expense? This is a money-making industry, not interested in our promoting our health but keeping us stagnant in our diseases and syndromes so they can continue to push drugs at us that make them money.

I don’t feel this way about all drugs, for sure. I know a lot of medicines help a lot of people. But with regards to PPIs and other antacid medications, I believe it’s about the money, not the cure.

http://www.utsouthwestern.edu/newsroom/news-releases/year-2016/may/acid-reflux-damage.html

 
9 Comments

Posted by on May 18, 2016 in anxiety, health, link, medications, prilosec

 

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “New GERD information

  1. April

    May 18, 2016 at 1:48 pm

    I’m with you 100%. Any time I tell my doctor about this or that…just so she can keep it in her notes for future, or to see if anything connects to something else…she pulls our her prescription pad. I hate that and usually don’t fill her prescriptions. As for the other meds, well, I’m wondering if my psych is just trying to get me hooked so that I can’t learn how to cope without the medication. I know I needed it to pull me out of the depression, but how come I can’t go off a medication without feeling worse than I did to start?

     
    • meANXIETYme

      May 18, 2016 at 2:57 pm

      I do think there are reasons to take medications. I do think medications often help people. I don’t know how to reconcile your situation except to say I understand that some people have chemical issues that require medications. Maybe you are in that camp. I don’t know how we ever know.
      I also have a prescription-happy doctor and I never fill the prescriptions unless it’s for antibiotics that I know I need. Even then I’m not happy because I always have crappy side effects to ABs. 😦

       
  2. joey

    May 18, 2016 at 2:14 pm

    Apple cider vinegar in water. Kefir. Both kill my ‘heartburn’ consistently.
    I was allergic to Prilosec and had to take the other kind. It helped, it did not cure. When I was late taking it, it was 10x worse. When I took that other med, the other not-Prilosec type, I could get heartburn from a glass of milk. I quit taking it.

     
    • meANXIETYme

      May 18, 2016 at 3:00 pm

      Apple cider didn’t work for me. 😦 Kefir was working, but now I seem to be getting heartburn when I drink the Kefir. I think my system is just sensitive right now because I’m eating a lot of my granola that has chocolate chips in it. Too much chocolate always launches my heartburn. I gotta take a break from the granola to get my system back into good form.
      PPIs like prilosec and nexium and stuff, they always end up giving you rebound heartburn that is 100x worse than what you started with. Just another way of saying that wasn’t the right solution, IMO.

       
      • joey

        May 18, 2016 at 3:02 pm

        I agree. Yes, chocolate does it to me, too. Chocolate is a ‘before 3 o’clock’ thing for me!

         
      • meANXIETYme

        May 18, 2016 at 3:10 pm

        LOL I tried that, too. I thought if I ate it at breakfast time, I’d be okay. Apparently, not so much!

         
      • joey

        May 18, 2016 at 3:13 pm

        Oh it is for me. Peanut butter, spicy food, and cooked tomatoes, too. If I eat any of that at night, I get my apple cider vinegar tonic goin beforehand and have some after.
        I’m sad for your suffering.
        My father’s being treated for esophageal cancer now and my mother has ‘silent GERD’ (I still don’t understand) so I’ve really cut down on the bad stuff lately. Coooooling foods. Cooooling foods.

         
      • meANXIETYme

        May 18, 2016 at 3:22 pm

        I’m sorry about your mother and your father. That’s a lot for them (and you) to deal with.
        As he’s aged, Hub is unable to handle spicy foods anymore, too. He’s sad about that, but I’m so accustomed to passing on the spicy stuff that I don’t even think about it anymore.

         
      • joey

        May 18, 2016 at 3:23 pm

        It’s hard, but I’m learning to adapt. Reducing inflammation overall makes for dull eating. *sigh*

         

Leave a Reply

 
