RSS

Titles are hard ya’ll

17 Feb

I couldn’t think of a title for this blog post. I wrote several and then deleted them. Then ended up with the one that is there. Enh.

I finally had a chance last week to go get my blood work done. That was a week + after I saw the endocrinologist because my calcium level was high. I wasn’t looking forward to see the endo because I don’t like her. I used her about three and a half years ago and I was unhappy with how the appointment went, but she was the first available to see at the office…and even that appointment was six weeks out from the phone call to make the appointment. Anyway, I went into the appointment, expecting that she would want to get me tested for everything that falls under her wing…and lo and behold, that was the case. She was pretty apathetic about my calcium level, telling me that at my age, they don’t worry too much about it unless I’m having symptoms or my parathyroid is out of whack. I hate when doctors blow me off because of my age. I’m not an age, I’m a human being…and shit happens to human beings at all ages. But Dr Endo said, “As long as you’re getting blood work to recheck your calcium and parathyroid, let’s do a thyroid test, your A1c, and your cholesterol.” Um, yay?

So with all Mom’s appointments and my brother’s visits and Hub’s appointments, it took me a week to get my blood work done because it required fasting, which meant an early morning visit to the phlebotemist. I tried to make an appointment, but the place is always booked up–they have great vampires there, they always get me on one stick–so it took over an hour of waiting to get in and get my blood drawn. When I was done, I tried to put the whole thing out of my mind as I had for the week that it took me to find time for the appointment. Oddly, I had more trouble now that the blood was en route to testing, and I kept checking the website for results. They FINALLY came in today…from the lab office, not from the endo’s office. Another reason why I don’t like that Dr Endo, because she never follows up. But the good news is, my calcium went back to normal levels (I’m told by Dr Endo I could have been dehydrated and that screws up calcium tests pretty often), my A1c is normal, and everything else she tested was normal except for my vitamin D, which I knew about, and my cholesterol, which I’m not surprised about.

Now I have to make the appointment for my mammogram the first week of March. I thought it was February, but it turns out that I had to return to get an ultrasound follow-up from my first mammo, and they could THAT as the last date I was tested. So I can’t get insurance to cover the mammo until after that anniversary rolls around. Seriously, the paperwork I got in the mail reminding me to get a mammo says specifically “one year plus one day” or else insurance won’t cover it. Dudes. C’mon. Like it isn’t stressful enough, you gotta give me that kind of shit to think about? Fortunately, though, they’ve brought the 3D mammogram equipment to my local radiology center, so I don’t have to drive 45 minutes to get a 3D mammo again this year. I know it’s not proven that the 3D mammo is any better, but considering my female issues, I figured I’d rather spend the extra few minutes getting the 3D so in the future they have good images to compare against.

I’m back, four hours later after being interrupted by someone at the front door and then the cleaning people who came in again. Then I had to accompany the cleaning people to my parents’ house and stay while they worked there. When I got back, the phone rang and it turned out to be the endo’s office–a nurse–calling to tell me about my results. And to tell me other than taking vitamin D supplements, they don’t  want to address anything else. At the very least, I’m glad the calcium went back to normal.

Mom is back in her lymphedema appointments because her legs are swelling up again (and she’s wearing these crappy velcro shoes from the therapist because her shoes don’t fit over the wraps on her feet). That’s two times a week. Plus she has regular physical therapy appointments once a week to work on her strength and balance. And Mom is on a chemo pill that she takes every day at home that has caused her to have a pretty constant and annoying dry cough. She can barely talk because of it. If it’s from the chemo pill, I hope they can give her something to help her because besides the fact that she can’t speak without having a terrible coughing fit, those coughing fits take their toll on her physically. Also, she’s weaning off the steroids and I can see the change in her mood and in her strength…and well as her stamina. And her interest in things. And unfortunately her oncologist is out of town this week, so we’re kind of on hold while we wait to hear from him when he gets back. Yes, there’s someone filling in for him, but they don’t know her history or what her regular oncologist is trying to do.

Tomorrow, after the lymphedema therapy, I get to go to the lawyer’s office with my brother to ask tons of questions. My mother didn’t want to go because she says she doesn’t want to bring everything up with my father again, who hates all this stuff. I’m not looking forward to going to the meeting with the lawyer, but I hope it will at least put all these questions to bed and leave us with a completed set of trust documents. And one more thing to take off my list of things to do.

This week has been bad. Busy and tiring. I’m ready for a nap. I wish.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Titles are hard ya’ll

  1. joey

    February 18, 2016 at 10:53 am

    Gosh. You really could benefit from a nap, but I know you’re not a napper, so I’ll just wish you a good night’s sleep.
    Glad your blood work has come out well — so far anyway 🙂

    My father had his second round of chemo last week and he sounds really good. Now, lol, he told me he has experienced no side effects of the chemo, which I think is fabulous, but lol, he then repeated himself several times and told me things we know we know. I had to suppress my laughter because I wouldn’t exactly say he’s experienced NO side effects, but I’m not going to tell him that he’s stating the obvious. (When you have a good chemo story — !!! — is that even a thing?) Well I thought it was riotous. Of all things to be wrong with him, I’ll take memory 😉

    I hope things slow down for you, that all the results are good, and that you get that rest!

     
    • meANXIETYme

      February 18, 2016 at 12:20 pm

      No, not a napper. And unfortunately, not a good sleeper, either. I ended up not sleeping much at all. It didn’t help that I woke up at 5am and saw a weird light on my ceiling above my ceiling fan. It LOOKED like a sliver of moonlight, but I couldn’t see it shining in from any of the windows. And I started freaking out that it might be a fire in the attic showing through the drywall. I mean really, WTF is wrong with my brain? Turns out the cleaning people opened one of the blinds over our bed from the top instead of the bottom…and it was JUST ENOUGH to show a tiny sliver of moonlight on the ceiling but not enough that we could SEE the sliver shining through at the window. My husband thinks I’ve lost my mind.
      Hey, at least he can’t remember he’s having a side effect from the chemo…that beats the alternative! LOL I’m sorry he’s having to go through the chemo and I hope it continues to go smoothly. Mom had a lot of fatigue further into her chemo treatment, and she ended up with tingling fingers and toes that never went away, but otherwise did really well. So hopefully he continues along the path of doing really well with the chemo. No matter how many times he tells you that in one conversation! LOL

       
      • joey

        February 18, 2016 at 3:10 pm

        Ceiling fan weirdness would do me in, too! Your brain is exhausted.

         
  2. April

    February 18, 2016 at 11:42 am

    I gave up on the world yesterday afternoon and went to bed. Told the inhabitants that they had to find their own dinner. It was nice.

     
    • meANXIETYme

      February 18, 2016 at 12:23 pm

      Oh I know I shouldn’t say this, but that sounds so nice. I’m glad you were able to do it and I hope it gave you a nice reprieve. 🙂

       
      • April

        February 19, 2016 at 9:10 am

        It was a luxury even though I was hiding from the world.

         

Leave a Reply

 
