RSS

Butthead’s water therapy – session 3

24 Sep

Today was Butthead’s third water therapy session (see session 2 and session 1). She seems to be getting more accustomed to it because today when we approached the facility, she actually tugged me to the front door. Of course, once inside, she spent most of our waiting time trying to get back OUT, but I’m not surprised.

When they took Butthead back, I asked the staff if I was the only crazy person taking pictures and video of the therapy and they assured me that I was not. But apparently most people only do that during the first session because it’s a novelty. I told them I had people waiting to see pictures and video, so I was going to do it every time! LOL

Here’s Butthead getting strapped into her life jacket. You can see how sweet the two techs are to her. Prior to this, Butthead was in the water for about five or ten minutes as they acclimate her to the water and prepare her to get into the life jacket. They also test her joints and feel her spine and look for signs of pain.

Today’s session went for fifteen minutes at 2.2mph, and she ended up walking for just over half a mile. Here she is about 3/4 of the way into her session, plodding along like a good girl…

At’s my girl. Doggedly (haw haw) doing her therapy. Trust me, she protested much less than I do when I’m in physical therapy! LOL

Hope you enjoyed swimming along with us! Next week is xrays to establish how healed she is. Woo!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 24, 2015 in anxiety, Butthead, dogs, love

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Butthead’s water therapy – session 3

  1. joey

    September 24, 2015 at 2:40 pm

    I do! I do enjoy it! So cute! Amazing what they can do for dogs ^_^

     
    • meANXIETYme

      September 24, 2015 at 4:13 pm

      It’s quite a trip to watch her (and other dogs) on that darn treadmill. They work so hard with those dogs to help them recover!

       

Leave a Reply

 
