RSS

Six month increments

23 Jul

I had my post-op with the surgeon on Tuesday. After waiting over an hour for the appointment (it’s almost criminal, seriously, wth?), he came in with a big ole smile.

Everything was clear, “negative” pathology, and we’re good to go. He talked a little bit about the cancer again, then asked if we had questions. I asked what the final stage was, and he said 1A, which is the lowest stage with a cancer finding in the uterus. So then I said, “Um, okay. What do I do now?”

Nothing. “NFT” — no further treatment. Every six months I go in for exam and pap (to check for cells on the vaginal cuff, which he said is where recurrence is most likely to happen), every year I get a follow-up CT…for five years. I try to pay attention to any new symptoms (pelvic pain and/or bleeding), and I go on with my world. Make sure to get my mammograms (these estrogen based cancers “travel in packs” he said, so breast and colon cancer are issues…). Good news, I get to do mammograms and 6 month exams during my birthday month. Happy birthday to me.

On his way out of the room, the surgeon asked if I was having any hot flashes or other surgical menopause symptoms. I said I didn’t think too much was happening yet, that most of my hot nights were probably from the fever from the infection. He nodded, said he’d see me in six months, and left the room. I’m still cold a lot and then get overheated when I try to stay warm, but I’m handling that. But again, I think because of my weight, the SM symptoms might be delayed for me. We’ll have to see.

I’m a little numb. It’s good news, I know it is, but I wasn’t exactly sure how to feel. I worry about missing recurrence symptoms. I worry about cancer popping up somewhere else. End result, I don’t really feel like my worry is gone, just pushed off and moderated a bit. Ugh. I wanted to feel elated. I wanted to feel relief. Instead, my brain just found something else to worry about.

On top of ALL that, my mom was checking on our dogs while we were at the follow-up appointment. She let them out around lunchtime and Butthead flew off our deck (not unusual) to chase a rabbit (not unusual) and came up lame on her back leg. She’s been having some mild limping after laying down, but upon movement, she seemed to be fine. We’d been monitoring her, but it seemed to be getting better. Mom told us Butthead laid in the yard for a bit, then when Mom called her back, she tri-podded it back to the house. Not good.

When we got home, she was still pretty bad. Within an hour of being home, I was on the phone to the vet, because this looked BAD. Our regular vet (my uncle) is out of the country, so we saw one of the other vets in his practice. She was barely finished with a physical exam when she gave us a grim look. It was as we anticipated…she tore her cruciate ligament in thatΒ back leg. And that means surgery. Which we would ONLY allow my uncle to do…and he’s not home for another two weeks. And Butthead is an active, restless, young dog. So we have to keep her quiet for these two weeks, then 4-8 weeks AFTER surgery. It’s so horrible to watch her limping around. It just breaks my heart.

And on Wednesday I go to get my baby toof removed. Which I’m freaked out about. On Monday we go to get the results from my mom’s follow-up PET scan after her radiation treatments.

So my brain has plenty to worry on. Woo.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “Six month increments

  1. joey

    July 23, 2015 at 2:20 pm

    Okay, but that’s excellent news about your surgery!!!
    I want you to stop and think for a minute that the cancers you’re at risk for are the ones easily detected and treated. I’m so happy! I’m not saying you don’t have plenty to worry about, cause I just read plenty to worry about.
    I also appreciate you clarifying the pap would check the vaginal cuff, as I’ve always wondered about that!
    About Butthead tho, bad deal. Poor puppy. Good luck tryin to keep her down. :/

     
    • meANXIETYme

      July 23, 2015 at 2:58 pm

      It is excellent news and I know that. It’s difficult to feel the relief and excitement…but logically I know it’s all really good news.
      As for the other cancers, I have no idea about colon cancer but I will try to educate myself. Unfortunately, I always have pains and I pretty much always have bowel issues (on and off) so I don’t know how to pinpoint what is just ME and what is WRONG.
      Yeah, the surgeon said pap smears and I’m like WTF, I ain’t got a cervix anymore so… But then he explained that the test would check for irregular cells on the cuff (which is what gets sewn shut at the top of the vagina once the cervix and uterus are gone). Makes sense once he said it, but I was glad for the explanation. I might have otherwise thought he had lost his mind. πŸ™‚
      Yeah, poor Butthead. She’s already looking lost and restless. Then again, she looks like that a lot. It’s just that on TOP of that she seems confused about why she’s all limping around and hurty. 😦
      (Also, thanks for celebrating with me on the good news.)

       
      • joey

        July 23, 2015 at 4:58 pm

        Anxiety is terrible on digestion, as you know. I understand.
        I’m really quite pleased for you πŸ™‚ Relieved. (Me a ‘stranger’ even lol)
        Did the vet mention you could give Butthead OTC analgesics? Tylenol? Baby aspirin? I’d call and ask if the vet didn’t mention it. At the end of the day, especially, it can really help.

         
      • meANXIETYme

        July 23, 2015 at 6:29 pm

        Yeah, there’s a link there between anxiety and digestion. Another happy co-inky-dinky.
        We have both pain meds and anti-inflammatories for Butthead, thankfully. The drawback to those is that she might be harder to keep corralled because the pain has been mitigated. But there’s no way we’d withhold just to keep her quiet, so we’ll work it out to keep her in check, even if she starts feeling perkier on the meds. πŸ™‚

         
      • joey

        July 23, 2015 at 6:36 pm

        Oh good πŸ™‚

         
  2. April

    July 24, 2015 at 4:45 am

    Stage 1A….that’s good, or so I’m told. That was my diagnosis and my mind has been messing with me since. Easier said than done, but try not to live in 6-month increments. Live. I’m happy to hear that they caught it in the early stage. I hope your mom’s PET scan is good.

    My dog tore the same ligament–which required surgery. She was 119 pounds and it was hard keeping her quiet. We had to crate her, and after several weeks we rehabilitated her according to the literature the vet gave. It really helped her to recover.

     
    • meANXIETYme

      July 24, 2015 at 9:49 am

      Stage 1A is supposed to be the lowest stage possible, so yes, it’s good. But as you know, our brains don’t really work on logic or really in “normal” reality. I’ll have to work on that six month thing…right now it’s on the back burner because of the other things going on. Having said that, I know it’s still there in my head, waiting for quiet moments to sink its claws into me. *sigh*
      Yeah, I can’t imagine having to keep your gigantic dog quiet any more than ours. Ours is ADHD still young restless and energetic. We’re lucky that we crate trained her when we first got her, so if we need to go out and leave her alone, we can crate her for a couple of hours. But mostly since I’m home, I can keep an eye on her pre-surgery. Afterwards, no clue what we’re going to do.
      We’re ALSO lucky that we have a water rehab facility about 20 minutes away, so we might investigate that for a couple of times a week for after. Not only good for rehab, but good to keep her activity level lowered.

       
      • April

        July 25, 2015 at 6:48 am

        I hope you find some peace among all the worry. I know it isn’t easy. Also, I hope your dog does well. Keeping a dog, especially and active one quiet is not easy. Good luck!

         
      • meANXIETYme

        July 25, 2015 at 10:03 am

        Thanks! x2 πŸ™‚

         

Leave a Reply

 
