RSS

Once more into the breech

08 Jul

Tomorrow’s the day (again). Seems I’m first on the list, so we need to be at the hospital by 6am. That means I have to be up around 4am to shower and get myself together. Seriously, I’m considering not going to sleep at all, because I can’t imagine I’ll even be able to sleep. Did I sleep last time? I can’t remember. I was second on the schedule last time, so I had an extra hour in the morning to work with.

Yesterday I started with what felt like a little sore throat, which upset me. But from all the reading I’ve done, they won’t make you reschedule unless you have a fever or lung involvement. I have no fever and no cough. This morning the throat thing is much less scratchy, though my nose feels a bit stuffy. That’s nothing new for me, though, because my allergies have been crappy this year and I’ve had stuffiness on and off since early spring. I’m hoping that’s what the scratchiness was from my throat yesterday, too.

I’m trying to read and distract myself. I had an early breakfast (per instructions) and after that I’ve been sitting around. Later I’ll go up and change my sheets so they’re clean and fresh. Later, I’ll be making a path to the bathroom. Bleh.

I’m nervous. I felt this way last night, too. I feel like I’m breathing funny, but that could also be because my nose is stuffy. Either way, that’s making me more anxious. I want to pay better attention to my breathing so that it is slow and normal, but I feel like if I pay attention to it, that’ll make things worse. Damned if I do, damned if I don’t.

Stuff hurts. Arms, legs, back, neck, head, jaw, ears. And I’m tired.

Hopefully by this time tomorrow, I’ll be in recovery, bitching and moaning about…something. And maybe by dinnertime, I’ll be home.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Once more into the breech

  1. joey

    July 8, 2015 at 1:42 pm

    I’ll be thinking of you tomorrow — I probably wouldn’t sleep. I’d probably shower early and lie down with a book or watch mindless tv.

     
    • meANXIETYme

      July 8, 2015 at 1:48 pm

      Thanks. As always, all good thoughts, energies, and prayers accepted.
      Not sure what I’m going to do. I have enough books to spare one for overnight, but how could I possibly be on alert tomorrow morning if I don’t sleep at all tonight? (Yeah yeah yeah, sarcasm was intended.)
      I’ve just prepped the gatorade and miralax–64 ounces–for drinking. If I never have to even SEE another bottle of gatorade again…

       
      • joey

        July 8, 2015 at 1:50 pm

        LOL Gatorade is something I only drink when I’m ill, and only ever the yellow-green. On alert is soooo overrated 😉

         
      • meANXIETYme

        July 8, 2015 at 1:55 pm

        I had to find something without sucrolose and without modified food starch. Also, not red or blue apparently. First time it was the orange one, but it was so sweet it made me want to gag. This time I found a citrus one that had a lighter color, so I hope it’s better.
        I asked if I could use something other than gatorade but the nurse said I needed the electrolytes. (They said crystal light was okay, but it’s got fake sugars in it that I don’t use.) So I’m just waiting on pins and needs to start gulping the brew. Blech.

         
      • joey

        July 8, 2015 at 1:55 pm

        Ewww. Maybe the citrus will be better.

         
      • meANXIETYme

        July 8, 2015 at 1:56 pm

        The orange one had sugar as the first ingredient, the citrus cooler had water as the first ingredient. So I can only hope…

         

Leave a Reply

 
