RSS

Pre-op appointment completed

14 May

I had my pre-op appointment this afternoon. I spent more time with the nurse getting the EKG setup than I did with the doctor. I don’t love my primary but I don’t hate her. Today, unfortunately, she seemed really uninterested in my being her patient. She asked me one set of question twice because she “couldn’t remember if she had asked them already” and she’d be in the room less than five minutes. What the hell? But on the up-side, they were on time taking me back to the exam room, the majority of my wait-time was minimal, and I was done less than 20 minutes later–five of which were taken up by checking out and doing a survey of how my appointment went on an iPad. Also, good news, despite my white coat syndrome, my blood pressure wasn’t terrible. And no nurse chased me down the hall to tell me she was really worried for me and here was a flyer on a low salt diet (true story, this actually happened the last time I was at the primary’s office when I saw the nurse practitioner to see if I was dealing with allergies or a sinus infection…my bp was slightly elevated which I KNEW was because of WCS but the nurse chased me down the hall after my appointment yelling WAIT WAIT! and told me she was so worried for me and handed me the papers). I mean, good on her for caring, but my BP is pretty normal at home and I know (and tell them all) about my WCS so they don’t freak out and try to put me on BP meds.

After my appointment at the doctor’s, I had to drive to the lab to get my blood drawn (stupid insurance won’t let me do it in the doctor’s office but rather I have to go to an independent lab to do it). It actually went REALLY quickly where normally I have to wait an hour or so to get in. I was in and out in less than half an hour, with the longest part (almost) being walking to and from the parking lot to get to the lab. I was glad it was all over and now I have to hope that the blood work gets completed in time to get to the hospital an entire 24 hours before my surgery. This was the soonest the primary could fit me in and I couldn’t get the blood work done without seeing the primary and getting the order put in. Bleh. Not much I can do, but it still stinks.

I mowed the lawn again yesterday. It was actually a really nice day again, with just a little sun, a nice breeze, and cool temperatures. I was proud that I got the lawn done again, but last night when I was ready to go to sleep, I realized that my neck was really hurting. It gave me trouble all night (along with the dogs who woke us with furious crying and barking at 2:30am) and has plagued me today. It’s a muscle pull where you can’t turn your head in one direction? It’s very uncomfortable and I hope it goes away quickly. Not only is it giving me more trouble sleeping (like I don’t have enough issue with that), but it’s bothering me even when I’m just sitting.

My sleep still sucks. I feel like I’m up every hour or so. I’ve gone to sleep late the last two nights in the hopes that I could fall asleep more quickly at night and sleep later in the morning. It’s not a good habit to be in because I can easily get into the habit of staying up late and NOT being able to sleep in the morning. I’ve been yawning all afternoon. I am going to go back to my regular schedule, even though my pattern isn’t working too well in the mornings. Plus, my PVCs are bothering me at night, which keeps me from falling asleep in a short amount of time. That means every time I was up, I have trouble getting comfortable and getting back to sleep. I’m also having weird dreams and nightmares…still. What’s up with that?

That’s it for now. I gotta go put my heating pad on my neck.

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Pre-op appointment completed

  1. joeyfullystated

    May 14, 2015 at 10:26 pm

    Nothin like a crick in your neck. Ugh. Moo had a soccer injury weeks ago, and her neck is still touch and go, depending. I hope you feel better tomorrow!
    I love when I’m in and out of the lab quickly — 🙂

     
    • meANXIETYme

      May 15, 2015 at 10:14 am

      Not only in and out of the lab quickly (and painlessly thankyouladytech) but the lab results already showed up in my portal this morning! Woo!
      Crick is mildly better this morning so I’m hopeful…

       
      • joeyfullystated

        May 15, 2015 at 10:24 am

        Oh good! Well I hope it continues to mend. You know I hafta say it: PUT SOME EMU CREAM ON IT! lol

         
      • meANXIETYme

        May 15, 2015 at 10:37 am

        LOL I thought about the emu oil last night!

         

Leave a Reply

 
