RSS

Boob squish (mammogram)

25 Feb

Well, at least that is over and done with. The worst part, sadly, was that they made me sit around and wait for over 45 minutes before they even called me back for my appointment. Waiting to take a test is bad enough, but having to sit around for 45 minutes with an anxiety disorder? Bad juju. I’m actually surprised and pleased with the fact that I didn’t feel anxious. I was nervous when the tech took me back, but it felt like normal nervousness, not “anxiety”.

The tech was really nice. I can’t imagine how many times a day she says, “I’m so sorry!” … and still with me she sounded sincere about it. The top/down squish was passable. It was weird, but I was able to bear it without trouble. The side squish, on the other hand, was bad. That hurt. And I was doing the 3d mammogram, too, so I had to hold my breath while the 2d AND the 3d ran. Good news, though, was that it was less than 30 seconds per boob-gram, and then it was all over. I had to pee like nobody’s business (since I sat around for an hour before, not wanting to go find a bathroom and MISS being called any second), so I pretty much threw my bra and shirt back on, then dashed into the waiting room where my mother was waiting for me. The radiology office was in a hospital, so it seemed like we walked forever to find a public restroom.

After all that, we stopped off to drop off the 35 hats we had to donate to the infusion center (on the same campus), only to find out that my mom’s regular infusion nurse was out. Aww. Well, we dropped off the hats and asked them to pass along to the nurse that we were there and missed her, then we headed home.

I feel heavy and a little sore, but nothing major. My skin was initially really red and irritated looking, but it seems to have faded. Hopefully no bruising results, but again, it could have been worse. I know everyones pain tolerance is different. I think what bothered me the most on the side pictures was because they seem to grab more than just “boob”… they take side boob and almost chestal areas. And because those areas aren’t as soft or flexible, that hurt. (My shoulder seems to be hurting pretty badly, which is unfortunate. Probably from being adjusted around and having to hang on to the equipment. I’ll probably have to use the heating pad to get some relief from that…) And again, the poor technician pretty much apologized in between every other word. But through most of the appointment, she chit-chatted with me, joking around and telling a story, so that was really nice of her. She knew it was my first official squish, so she explained everything, too.

Hopefully they won’t need to call me back to redo pictures and hopefully all will be clear.

Squish achievement unlocked.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on February 25, 2015 in anxiety, doctor visit, family, health, pain, stress

 

Tags: , , , , ,

8 responses to “Boob squish (mammogram)

  1. joeyfullystated

    February 25, 2015 at 3:16 pm

    I’m glad you got your boobs squished, rub some emu cream on the owies and feel better!

     
    • meANXIETYme

      February 25, 2015 at 3:25 pm

      ZOMG my mother actually HAS emu cream. What’s it do for post-boob-squish?

       
      • joeyfullystated

        February 25, 2015 at 3:36 pm

        ZOMG! WHY DON’T YOU HAVE EMU CREAM?!? WHAT DOESN’T EMU CREAM DO? lol — you ever seen my big fat greek wedding, how the dad is all, “put some Windex on it?”
        That’s what Blue Emu is to me. Everything. Keeps Rosacea calm, soothes eczema, eases muscle pain, takes the pain out of arthritic joints, moisturizes, takes the sting out of cuts…Seriously, it’s amazing.
        Rub it on anything that hurts, not eye balls, but you know, and it helps. Witch’s honor.

         
      • meANXIETYme

        February 25, 2015 at 3:55 pm

        That’s too funny. Yes, I remember the Windex thing from that movie. I don’t have emu cream because my skin is so freaking sensitive that I don’t use much on it. Does it really work on rosacea? Cuz I have that! I will go find some and order it.

        Also, my doctor’s office already called and they want me to go back for ultra-sound of both breasts cuz they saw stuff they want to follow-up on. I know they said that this is completely normal after a first mammo, but still, freak me out much?

         
      • joeyfullystated

        February 25, 2015 at 5:09 pm

        Yes, but it’s better to know as early as possible if you need to freak out. Don’t freak out now, wait for a real reason, since it may never come!
        Yes, I have Rosacea, and I first tried it across the jaw line, where it’s most itchy and red, and when that went alright for about a week, i started using it on my whole face, and it’s fabulous. No burning, no itching, because the Blue Emu is like, 90% aloe vera. It’s awesome. I’m not sayin my face isn’t red, but no burning and itching is super!
        I have incredibly sensitive skin too, so just do a small section and see how it goes. It’s magnificent for night hands. I think my hands are looking much smoother.

         
      • meANXIETYme

        February 25, 2015 at 5:15 pm

        Yeah, I am glad she called quickly, but now I get to freak out (I really hope not to) all weekend because the radiology place couldn’t see me until Monday afternoon. Again, I hope it’s nothing but a standard follow-up to a first mammo.
        I haven’t had too much itchy with the Rosacea, but I get the flushing. I’ll try it on my hand first, which always has this itchy spot that no one has been able to diagnose.
        I actually use O’Keefe’s working hands for my severely cracked and bleeding hands. If I use it in the right amount, it works pretty well and I don’t have to do it every night. On the flip side, it kind of makes my hands feel tacky, so I have to put it on and do NOTHING for an hour or so until I wash my hands and the “tacky” goes away. It’s odd, but seems to work pretty well. Maybe the Emu Oil will work better! I ordered a tub already! Thanks!

         
  2. April

    February 27, 2015 at 8:08 am

    You two are full of information. I have dry old lady skin—always have. I started using castor oil and wearing gloves at night. My hands were really soft, but sleeping with gloves on is seriously not for me. I know the waiting is difficult, but it is nice that they are following up right away and not poo-pooing the results until the next mammo. You know…let’s wait and see…

    Also, if this is your first mammogram, I’m sure your doctor told you they need a baseline. A map of all the oddities of the individual’s boobs. It just gives them a reference point for the next lovely squish and smash test. Take care of yourself this weekend…pamper yourself. 🙂

     
    • meANXIETYme

      February 27, 2015 at 9:47 am

      I did the gloves-at-night thing with Bag Balm, but HATED wearing the dang gloves all night. At like 2 in the morning I’d be pulling them off and throwing them across the room (well, as far as white cotton gloves throw). Sadly, I now have a box of 100 white cotton gloves and I’ve used maybe eight of them. Although, if my hand is really bad, I will try to use ONE overnight, but I hate it.
      And yes, this is my first mammogram and yes, I knew it was likely I’d get a call back. I did also think, though, that since I did the 3D additional that it would prevent the call back. So I guess my mindset was that I’d done extra so I WOULDN’T get the call back and yet… call back. *sigh*
      Thanks for the “map” thought. Made me laugh thinking of an old-timey treasure map of my boobs. Maybe I’ll frame it and give it to hub? LOL

       

Leave a Reply

 
