RSS

Attempting to keep grounded

14 Dec

This past week or so, I’ve been dealing with PVCs. Premature ventricular contractions. I was diagnosed over 15 years ago with this issue and told at the time that they were benign. That a lot of women, particularly, get them. It’s like one part of your complete heartbeat comes in too early and therefore the thump-thump is not an even beat. It makes me cough when it happens, probably because it frightens me and I’m trying to control the beats. Which is ridiculous, because there is no controlling it. But no matter what, I still cough. WTF.

Normally, the PVCs are so mild that I don’t notice them anymore. And I know they don’t happen all the time. I think they are more prevalent when I’m already stressed, and I suspect they are also hormone driven. But truthfully, my hormones are pretty messed up…they have been for years. So there are times that I know my hormones are spiking only because of the PVCs. I’ll then notice other hormonal issues, and I’ll be like, “Oh right, hormones.” And I would suspicion that I’m dealing with hormones now because of the outburst of acne on my poor chin. But these PVCs are getting to me. They’re happening A LOT, and they feel very prominent. I remind myself repeatedly that they are BENIGN. The doctor at the time told me that unless the PVCs were consistently running on, they didn’t want to put me on beta-blockers for them. And over the fifteen years, I’ve not had that issue. But over the past couple of days, they’re bugging me. I know it’s because it’s ramping up my anxiety, and I know the anxiety makes the PVCs worse (or at least I notice them more).

I know all that. I KNOW IT. And yet I’m sitting here feeling stressed and anxious because the PVCs are coming more often. I’m trying to crochet and do other things to keep myself busy, but the PVCs still come and I cough and I get anxious. And I desperately want them to go away.

Anyone else have these stupid PVCs? It plays right into my health anxiety, which is almost always centered around heart issues for me. ARG. It’s making me want to lay down and cry. Which won’t help one tiny bit.

(apparently I blogged about this last year… *sigh*)

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Attempting to keep grounded

  1. Maggie Wilson

    December 14, 2014 at 8:29 pm

    I have had them rarely and mildly. Except during one exceptionally stressful period. I thought my heart was trying to jump ship. They were so bad i went to my MD. She said perimenopause , in other words, hormones. She had me wear a holter monitor to be on the safe side. Results were negative. Eventually, they went away when the stress did.

     
    • meANXIETYme

      December 14, 2014 at 8:45 pm

      Thanks for sharing your experience, Maggie Wilson. It really is a pain that stress causes anxiety, which causes stress… and on and on. Most of the time mine are mild and I don’t even notice.
      I can’t wait to try to sleep tonight, as I know they will flare up just as I’m trying to shut down for the night.

       
      • Maggie Wilson

        December 14, 2014 at 8:52 pm

        I hope that with practice you will be able to convince yourself that it is ok and that it will pass. Not easy, I know.

         
      • meANXIETYme

        December 14, 2014 at 9:08 pm

        Thanks, I keep working on it. Some days are better than others. My hope is that one day I won’t have to convince myself, it’ll just be …

         
  2. joeyfullystated

    December 15, 2014 at 7:20 pm

    I don’t know why I missed this one. I’m pretty good at letting something ride when I know it’s caused by something specific. The vertigo is just anxiety, these pills cause dizziness, I am having the chest pain while hooked up to a monitor and I am okay.
    Hormones are tricky though. They’re sneaky and inconsistent and well, they’re miserable toads. If I had to add heart crap to my hormone situation, I’d be angry, me thinks.

     
    • meANXIETYme

      December 15, 2014 at 8:16 pm

      When I can pinpoint how I’m feeling to a source, I can deal with it way more easily. When I can’t, it causes me a lot of angst. I’m trying really hard to learn to just let it ride, even when I can’t find the source of it. I mean, lots of people be tired with heavy eyes that they can’t keep open and don’t automatically assume it’s related to some horrible affliction (I used to hear that extreme exhaustion could be a heart issue, but I try to remind myself that it’s supposed to be ONGOING extreme exhaustion, not one day of…)
      Hormones piss me off because I can’t always pin that as a source until (possibly DAYS) LATER when I go, “oh right, HORMONES”.

       
  3. April

    December 15, 2014 at 9:20 pm

    I’ve had them but didn’t know what it was called. I thought I was going to die of a heart attack for sure. Maybe it is hormonal..now that I have reached the wonderful stage of full on menopause, I’m not bothered by them anymore.

     
    • meANXIETYme

      December 15, 2014 at 9:46 pm

      The first time I had them I thought the same thing. I went to a cardiologist who told me I was “too young” to have heart problems. It really pissed me off, because IN HIS WAITING ROOM was a teenager who had a heart attack on the basketball court.
      I went to another cardiologist who kindly told me they were PVCs and that what I was feeling was real, but they were benign. He offered to put me on a heart halter, but said it wasn’t likely that they’d be lucky enough to catch the PVCs since they were so inconsistent.
      They’ve come and gone over the many years, and other than stress, the only other thing I could correlate them to was hormones. Since my hormones are so scattered these days, I haven’t had a major bout of PVCs in a while. Probably not since my last post in September of 2013. So I guess that’s good. But the bad news is, with such scattered hormones, I can’t know when to expect them. Bleh.

       
      • April

        December 16, 2014 at 8:46 am

        Sometimes it’s rough being a woman, isn’t it?

         
      • meANXIETYme

        December 16, 2014 at 9:43 am

        Yes. So much yes. 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
