RSS

I can’t even imagine…

11 Dec

Oh wait, yes I can.

Ever hear someone say (or you say), “I can’t even imagine…”? I’m sure I’ve said it a million times, but in the end, the truth is that I can imagine it. It’s not that I can actually understand what someone else has lived through, but I can certainly imagine it. Because my imagination is fucking fantastic…and for someone who has anxiety issues, this capability SUCKS ROCKS.

See that pot there on the counter? You think it’s a benign old pot, just sitting there. But someone who can imagine “it” will start thinking…
What if that pot is on the stove?
What if that pot on the stove is filled with water?
What if that pot on the stove is filled with water and the burner is on?
What if that pot on the stove that is filled with water and the burner is on, so the water is boiling?
What if that pot’s handle is canted just right, and is hanging over the edge of the counter/stove?
What if that pot’s handle is hanging over the edge of the counter/stove and X (a child, an adult, an animal) brushes the handle and the pot is knocked off the counter/stove and thus the boiling hot water burns X horribly?
What if the hot water that has spilled over X not only burns them, but it disfigures them permanently?
Or kills them?

See, you thought it was just a stupid pot sitting in the middle of the counter, didn’t you?

On a similar note, I live about an hour away from where a small plane fell from the sky into a house (three houses, actually), killing three people on the plane and three people in one of the houses. The house that had the most damage (from the damn WING of the plane) had three people in it. A mother and two very young children. As if this wasn’t horrible enough to hear, the media had to tell us repeatedly how the mother was found huddled in a small, windowless bathroom, her body over top of her children, in an attempt to shield and/or comfort them in their last moments. Can you even imagine? Yes, goddammit, I can. And now, thank you very much, that image is burned into my head, following me around as I attempt to continue with a normal day in my life.

I am a creative person. Sometimes that both sucks and blows.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “I can’t even imagine…

  1. joeyfullystated

    December 12, 2014 at 12:09 am

    I can imagine. I live in that world; the world where I feel like I’m the only one who sees all the possible dangers. Some people think I’m paranoid and some people make fun of me, but I sure as hell CAN imagine.

     
    • meANXIETYme

      December 12, 2014 at 9:19 am

      Yeah, the paranoia thing comes up, but I don’t really think it’s paranoid…it’s an overabundance of creativity that needs an outlet and eventually finds one somewhere. But add that to an anxious nature and… KABOOM!

       
  2. April

    December 12, 2014 at 9:31 am

    I’m full of what ifs and an overactive imagination, otherwise known as anxiety. I can imagine…

     
    • meANXIETYme

      December 12, 2014 at 9:42 am

      I often wonder if creative people are more prone to anxiety…

       
      • April

        December 12, 2014 at 9:48 am

        Could be–we make sure we have all our bases covered. 🙂

         
      • meANXIETYme

        December 12, 2014 at 9:52 am

        LOL Exactly!

         

Leave a Reply

 
