RSS

Post dentist delight

14 Nov

I had my appointment with the hygienist to get my teeth cleaned. Hub drove me, but he sat in the waiting room while I had the pleasure of being poked and scraped and blasted with sonic beams and water. They did a full exam of gums and pockets and tartar and blah blah. That woman poked me so many times. The worst was sitting in the chair for over an hour, tilted with my head near the floor, of course, and without support for my arms. Apparently when the chair tilts back, it opens a section between the arm rests and the back support of the chair and there’s no place for your arms. You either stretch them forward to hang onto the arm rests, or you let them fall backward into that “opening”. I went from one direction to the other, trying to keep from staying in one position too long.

No matter, by the time the appointment was over, I was exhausted, and I felt like I’d been hit by a freight train. I felt run over, sore and tired and my mouth hurt. I didn’t sleep well last night and so I’m still tired.

As for my baby tooth? Still there. The hygienist was somewhat obsessed with it, poking it and seeing how much it wiggled, trying to spray it with water… then she said if I were one of her kids (she was about my age) she would just pluck the tooth out. I said, “please don’t” and we laughed and moved on.

So anyway, I survived, I’ve had a headache since then, and my mouth is still sore (the appointment was yesterday), and my body is tired from being so tense and in such awkward positions.

I’ve written nothing since my appointment with T. I tried, but came up with nothing. I have spent time thinking about it, but nada. It used to be I had characters floating around in my head. I had lines and descriptions and conversations and scenes. Now I have blank. The idea of living in the moment and staying away from poor internal dialogue has led me to feeling blank. Nothing in my noggin. I tend to have this issue…it’s either black or white. Shades of gray are hard for me to live in. Moderation is difficult for me to live in.

Must. Try. Harder.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “Post dentist delight

  1. April

    November 14, 2014 at 11:39 pm

    Yay! You made it. My oldest son has a baby tooth still. The dentist said if he lost it, he would have to have a bridge because it would throw his bite off. Funny thing, our youngest son ended up with three front teeth and had to have one pulled. Oh, I clench my hands together and place them on my lap. I never realize how tense I was until it’s all over. And…the tilting down? I always have to pee. Root canals are the worst, I usually have to ask to use the restroom during long procedures.

     
    • meANXIETYme

      November 15, 2014 at 7:09 pm

      Yeah, they’ve tried to talk me into an implant, but for multiple reasons, that ain’t happening. The issue with the bridge is that it kind of means you have to “ruin” two perfectly good teeth to put crowns that the bridge sits on. Then they said it’s nearly impossible to floss between the crowns and the fake tooth in between. So, I’ll probably leave the gap, since it isn’t visible.

      I tense my whole body, so every muscle hurts when I’m done. The tilting backward mucks with my vertigo and balance, and just makes me generally uncomfortable. Of course, those chairs suck, too!

       
      • April

        November 15, 2014 at 9:38 pm

        My dentist tortures me with some horrible tv show. I keep my fingers crossed that it won’t be news on the day I go.

         
      • meANXIETYme

        November 15, 2014 at 10:02 pm

        They had a soap opera on when I got into the room, but the hygienist was quick to switch it to show my charts and/or xrays. So at least there was that. 😉

        If they had the news on, I’d ask them to switch it off. Like we need that extra stress…

         
      • April

        November 16, 2014 at 8:05 am

        Seriously.

         
  2. joeyfullystated

    December 1, 2014 at 6:39 pm

    I have a trick, but I don’t know if it will work for you. I ask the assistant to put the x-ray pad on me. It’s heavy and comforts me. I cross my arms across my chest and it blankets me. Just a thought about the arm thing.

     
    • meANXIETYme

      December 1, 2014 at 8:27 pm

      Very interesting, because I used to use one of those pads during a brain training exercise therapy. I can’t remember what it was called, but I was supposed to control some spaceship with my breathing or something. And they used those xray vests as stress relievers. I have often thought that I should mention to my therapist that it might be something good for them to have in their offices because of it’s soothing feeling!

      Interesting that you get the same comfort from it that I do. I’ll have to remember that for the next dental visit, which I think will be soon. (Baby tooth has finally turned perpendicular to the other teeth around it, so I suspect it needs to come out.)

       
      • joeyfullystated

        December 1, 2014 at 9:04 pm

        Oh drats. All three of my daughters have had the same exact baby tooth molar loosen, cause pain, reattach and cause more pain. Sissy was the only one who got hers out on her own. The other two girls had to have it pulled. (And no one prepared Moo for the clicking and crunching noises, so it was traumatic for her.) 😦
        I have had many teeth pulled, having grown some extras. I’m very special. lol Only one experience was particularly bad, but she was a crap dentist and I never saw her again.
        I feel like baby tooth will go easily for you. Wonder what she’s been holdin on to you for? 😉

         
      • meANXIETYme

        December 1, 2014 at 9:15 pm

        Clicking and crunching noises? WTF? Wait, don’t tell me! Wait, better tell me. ACK.

        I’ve not had any teeth pulled. The deal is, my baby toofie don’t got no roots. I’m told it’s being held in by the molars around it. The hygienist thinks there might be some gum attachment, but she wasn’t sure. I really can’t imagine how the two teeth around it are holding it in. It makes no sense. I can wiggle it side to side, but really only slightly… That’s what freaks me out…what the hell is holding it in there?? Personally, I suspect magic, but who knows… But I can actually SEE that it’s turned sideways now, so that’s probably bad.

        I also apparently have a wisdom tooth that has grown in sideways, where the top of the tooth is actually pushing at the side of the tooth in front of it. But it’s still beneath the gums so they’re not doing anything with it now. So yeah, I got me some weirdies, too.

         
      • joeyfullystated

        December 1, 2014 at 9:19 pm

        When they pull teeth, there are strange noises. Like a really big clock in your ears. Honestly, it sounds like something enormous is happening in your head. Grinding, ticking, crunching, you’d think your jaw would break, but it’s actually just because your ears are RIGHT THERE. Anyway, sit in the chair and think about how if I can do it, you can do it. All the freakish noises are totally normal, and baby tooth will be much easier than adult molar weirdies. lol I promise!

         
      • meANXIETYme

        December 1, 2014 at 9:34 pm

        OMG why did no one tell me?! LOL

        I always tell them to tell me everything beforehand so I won’t be freaked out. But since I didn’t even have the consult yet, I guess they might still tell me about the enormous noises. Ugh.

        Thanks. Forewarned is forearmed.

         
      • joeyfullystated

        December 1, 2014 at 9:36 pm

        Yeah, I didn’t go with Moo, and our regular dentist wasn’t there, so no one told her. The Mister’s never had one pulled, so he didn’t know. It’s important to know!

         

Leave a Reply

 
