RSS

Meditation via crochet

05 Jul

I started crocheting to spend time with my mom. Essentially, I wanted to find something we could do together to relax and distract her (and me). I also felt that the purpose of crocheting chemo caps would do well for Mom, because she likes to give back. She used to do preemie caps, so this isn’t far from that and it’s in the realm of what is happening in her life. We have had lots of fun conversations and time spent crocheting, talking about stitches and patterns, yarn, sizes, and the like. It’s been great and I’m thankful to have the opportunity to make all these memories.

I didn’t realize how much the crochet would do for me, personally. I knew it would give me something to do with my hands, but I didn’t realize it would become a form of meditation for me. A time when I could be with me and not be thinking of something else. I am able to take time to be in the moment, to find a quietness inside my head that I have not been able to accomplish any other way. Creating the hats has given me an opportunity to do something good for someone else, but it’s also no pressure. If it doesn’t look right, who cares? If it doesn’t fit the way I expected? So what? If I miss a stitch, who is going to pull the hat apart to find the error? Who is going to notice one tiny stitch in an entire hat?

This is a way to learn to silence my inner editor, which is something I generally live with every minute of the day. I don’t even speak without editing myself. I don’t write without my internal editor looking over my shoulder. It’s holds me back in a lot of ways, and creates anxiety that I don’t need. In order to avoid the anxiety, I have stopped doing a lot of things I enjoy because it was ruined by my inner editor. But I’ve not been able to quiet the Editor and I’ve never been able to take a vacation away from it, basically. When I crochet, though, the editor seems to shut down. I’ve learned to “fudge” areas in a hat that I can’t figure out, don’t understand, or don’t think I can do. I’ve worked new stitches without worrying if they are right or wrong, and I don’t concern myself with being judged over the finished product.

Crochet has given me a type of meditation, and a type of relief/release. It’s become a form of therapy, too, allowing me to learn to work without my inner editor. And maybe if I can do that with crochet, I can let that melt over into other parts of my life.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Meditation via crochet

  1. joeyfullystated

    July 5, 2014 at 2:42 pm

    This is how I am with quilting. It’s zen 🙂

     
  2. April

    July 6, 2014 at 11:40 am

    I do this with knitting. It was a way to deal with grief after my dad died. Now, I’m a compulsive knitter. However, I have that huge flaw of perfectionism. But I don’t mind ripping something apart and starting over. It gives me more time to knit. It is a must do activity to calm my mind.

     
    • meANXIETYme

      July 6, 2014 at 12:56 pm

      I thought I would have trouble with the errors that I was making, but I’ve been able to move through the mistakes. I’m shocked about it, but happy it’s been that way. Normally I fall into that perfectionist category, too.
      On the other hand, I HATE ripping stuff out and it’s more than two rows, I won’t do it. I just try to figure out how to work with what I’ve done. No clue why that bothers me more than the mistakes…

       

Leave a Reply

 
