RSS

Party on, Wayne

28 May

Tonight Hub and I are going to a party. I do not like parties. I’m a terrible introvert and incredibly shy. I also get embarrassed easily. I will probably spend the evening with my face in flames…partly from discomfort and embarrassment and partly because I overheat incredibly easily. Our house is like a freezer pretty much all year round, and no one else ever keeps their place cold enough.

Why, you ask, am I going to the party? No real choice, actually. Hub is working with a charity and we’re going to the party to try to raise funds for the charity. I’ve been helping him with some of the fundraising stuff (ideas and setup), but heaven help me if I have to TALK to anyone about the charity or the fundraising…or ask for money. I’m terrible at all of it. It isn’t that I get anxious about going to the party, I just don’t like parties. I don’t like mingling, I don’t like meeting new people, I don’t like making small-talk. On top of everything else, the party is during dinner-time (also, happy hour) at a restaurant. I have no idea if there will be any food I can eat safely…and since I don’t drink, the happy hour means pretty much nothing to me.

I’m going to take my new camera and take pictures. The person organizing the event asked people to take pictures to share afterward and I figured it’d be a good way for me to practice my camera skills. Also, if I’m taking pictures maybe no one will talk to me. AND taking pictures will give me something to do and something to hold in my hands.

Really, I have nothing else to talk about right now. Well, I probably do, but for some reason I don’t feel motivated to write.

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Party on, Wayne

  1. joeyfullystated

    May 28, 2014 at 10:10 pm

    Oh a party. Yay. The only time I like parties is when they’re at the home of very good friends, where the stranger count is low, and it’s understood I’ll be leaving before it’s polite.
    That being said, I desperately wanted to go to my nephew’s graduation party, but it was not meant to be.
    Hope you’ll come home and decompress easily ❤

     
    • meANXIETYme

      May 29, 2014 at 9:22 am

      The party was pretty much what I expected it to be…with the exception of the fact that Hub did not circulate the way I had anticipated he would. Apparently he is more shy than I remembered in this type of situation.
      I think had he not had to pimp for the charity, he would have been more relaxed. Oh well…
      But afterward we went to dinner and I even got a little dressed up for the evening, so it ended up as a sweet date night (esp since the dogs were with my parents and we didn’t have to worry about rushing home to let them out). 🙂

       
      • joeyfullystated

        May 29, 2014 at 10:44 am

        Well that worked out nicely, then! Date night FTW! 😀

         
      • meANXIETYme

        May 29, 2014 at 2:54 pm

        🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
