RSS

Changing dreams

05 May

Last night, I had strange dreams/nightmares again.

Remember my old dreams where I talked about driving around either searching for an exit or when I’m on a highway and I can’t find the right direction to go? I haven’t had those in a while, but that does happen. Sometimes I’ll go months without them, and then they’ll pop up and happen every night. I’ve had similar type dreams where I was coming out of a subway train and couldn’t find the right direction to get out of the station, or where I’d be out of the station but not able to find my way home from the station…etc. But last night, the dream was different.

I was out of the station already in the dream, and I did a bit of searching to find a taxi cab. Guys, I haven’t taken a taxi cab since I was in high school and had to take a cab home from school when I was “sick”. Anyway, I hailed a taxi and got in, and immediately gave them the address of my current home, including very specifically my zip code. I then had thoughts about how much this was going to cost–how expensive–and some thoughts on what other options I had to get home. But there was no real feeling of distress or being lost. I felt very on-track and like I was in control of where I was going…but I knew quite clearly I wasn’t driving. I gave the taxi driver the address and that was the end of it. No worries or discussion over how to get there, and no fear that we were heading in the wrong direction or taking the wrong exit.

On a weird note, I then found myself in a dream with Hub (no longer in the taxi, but still trying to get somewhere) who was carrying a large, bright orange or red and black backpack. Inside the backpack was something we were trying to bury (we kept looking for someplace to bury what was in the backpack, but no place seemed secure enough or hidden enough). I have no idea what was in the backpack, but we were hiding it from people and trying to find a place to bury it. Then Hub disappeared and I was left with the backpack and people kept trying to look at it and/or pick it up and carry for me, but I wouldn’t let them because I knew we needed to keep it hidden.

Guys, I believe our dreams have meanings, but that we don’t always understand them. Sometimes I think it isn’t important to understand, just that the dreams are trying to get things out of your head and away from you. Sometimes I think they are just reflections of what is going on in your life.

I think part of this dream…the part where I was able to get out of the subway and into a vehicle and head for home? I feel like it’s because I’m doing better with my anxiety and my control stuff. I’m not searching so much for the person I want to be…I’m not so lost. When I woke in the middle of the night from that part of my dream, I actually felt like “Oh yeah, it’s because I’m on the right track. I’m doing the right things to be a better, more grounded me.” Then I got up to pee and went back to bed. 🙂

The second dream? I have no idea where that was going. It was a new one for me and it made me feel more uncomfortable. I rarely have dreams with Hub in them for some reason. So what’s going on there? I just don’t know yet.

 
 

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Changing dreams

  1. joeyfullystated

    May 5, 2014 at 5:15 pm

    The backpack is a burden to get rid of.
    My frequent ones are when I flip the light switches, and the lights won’t come on — this is a precursor to horrible things I shall not write about. The other one is when I’m panicked, trying to dial a phone, but I keep messing up the order of the numbers — nothing bad happens in those.
    I do prefer dreams which leave me giddy and light!
    Dreams can be so upsetting at times, but I agree, you’re showing remarkable improvement and you should just keep taxiing along!

     
    • meANXIETYme

      May 5, 2014 at 5:32 pm

      Yeah, I got the burden part, and the burying part, but I don’t get what it is or why Hub is involved and then disappears. I suspect there will be more of these to come that may or may not explain…
      Yeah, I understand the panic over the phone dialing and the lights that won’t come on. It’s these recurring dreams like that that drive me batty. Not that there was far to go… 😉
      Thanks! I am trying to continue forward! Upward! And always twirling, twirling… hee.

       
      • joeyfullystated

        May 5, 2014 at 5:33 pm

        Twirling gives me anxiety, but I’ll watch you 🙂 LOL

         
      • meANXIETYme

        May 5, 2014 at 6:20 pm

        (It’s some quote from some TV show I think? Might be Futurama…)
        I can’t twirl either, it’d make me hurl. LOL

         
      • joeyfullystated

        May 5, 2014 at 8:01 pm

        😛

         

Leave a Reply

 
