RSS

My favorite carpet (hates me)

02 May

When we were building this house, we talked about getting dark carpeting in a lot of the rooms that were going to be carpeted. We had cranberry colored carpeting in our old house in the family room, and it was the ONE carpet in the house I loved. It was a sploched, weird pattern, but it made me so happy to see it every day. And it was a short pile, so it was easy to vacuum…and truthfully if we ever spilled any drinks in there, you’d never know.

sp_carpet

Sweet Pea! (and our carpet)

When we went a-shopping for new carpet, I carried around a sample of this carpet everywhere we went. I tried to find it because I wanted it our new bedroom, but the manufacturer got bought out by a bigger chain and they discontinued the carpet. I never found anything even close. We ended up with a semi-shaggy (and soft) chocolate brown on our first floor (big open rooms with lots of windows) and a multi-colored tan-ish with gold-ish flecks for the upstairs (less natural light coming in). Both sets of carpet were the same manufacturer, same soft slightly shaggy pile, and we were told they would wear extremely well. We also thought we’d have Sweet Pea with us, so we figured it was best to get darker colors in the main parts of the house to hide the dark dog hair. She never made it to the new house, but those decisions were made by then.

Anyhoo, while we were shopping one time, I found this carpet that I L-O-V-E-D. But a) it was verrry expensive and b) it was an “animal print” (subtle) and everyone thought it would be too much in our larger rooms. But come hell or high water, I wanted that damn carpet. We ended up putting it on our stairs going up from the main level to the bedroom level. We have a relatively large landing (the stairs are a “U” shape) where I’d get to enjoy a larger swath of the pattern, but on the stairs it would be less overpowering. The pile on this carpet was also low and tight, so we figured it’d be easy to keep clean, no matter what dog(s) we ended up with.

The landing, post-vacuum.

The landing, post-vacuum.

Also, note the TWO dog toys discarded on the side of the steps. That's a Butthead thing...

Also, note the TWO dog toys discarded on the side of the steps. That’s a Butthead thing…

So now with two big hairy dogs, we have dog hair everywhere. Yes it gets worse when they blow their coats, but they shed all year round. Lots of hair, lots of shedding, lots of hair. Get that? And of course, that means the stairs get covered with dog hair. The stairs I have to walk up and down every day. The stairs that are visible from the family room and the foyer (altho we rarely use the front door for guests because we don’t have a walkway yet) and from all of upstairs. When we got long haired dogs, I knew what it would be like, so I’m not shocked or surprised. I knew we’d be vacuuming the stairs…we had the same issue with SP.

But holy hell, this carpet basically fights back against every vacuum we’ve ever bought (and/or tried and returned). The only thing we haven’t done is buy a Dyson, mostly because we’ve been told they don’t actually work that well. (Also, $500 for a vacuum? Hell no!) We JUST bought a Shark Rocket, which is similar to the Dyson stick thing, but supposedly has better suction power.

Da Rocket

Da Rocket

Our stairs have larger-than-average depth to them because Hub has ginormous feet and we asked to have deep steps to accommodate him. That, of course, leaves us with even more area for dog hair to collect. The Shark did okay on the steps, I thought, until I took the above pictures. The landing looks pretty okay, but those steps look like they’re still covered with dust. I wonder if it’s the lighting from the flash? Ugh.

We have two full-size vacuums in the house, but the hose attachments won’t pick anything up, and hefting the whole vacuum over each step is painful and tiring. I’m guessing at this point that the weave on the carpet is just SO tight that it won’t release anything. And also, the weave seems to have a direction, and vacuuming in the wrong direction seems to dig dirt and hair further into the pile.

If I totally didn’t love this carpet so much, I’d be considering pulling it up and replacing it. It was hella expensive, but cleaning it is nearly impossible. And even if we didn’t let the dogs upstairs (which we do, so nuts to that idea), the dog hair still floats around and would STILL get on the carpet. I’ve actually spent time BRUSHING the carpet with one of our dog’s brushes, which pulls the hair off the carpet, but having to sit on each step and brush it individually with a hairbrush? Uh uh, not going to happen, ya’ll.

I haven’t decided yet if we’ll keep the Shark Rocket. I’m waiting for Hub to give me a second opinion on how it works. It wasn’t an inexpensive investment…if it worked, I don’t think it’d be a big deal. But I’m sort of undecided on how well it worked. Then again, I’m really critical about how these vacuums work.

And just because…

Butthead snoozin' in her crate on this rainy day (she goes in there all the time to nap).

Butthead snoozin’ in her crate on this rainy day (she goes in there all the time to nap).

 

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 2, 2014 in anxiety, dogs, Sweet Pea

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “My favorite carpet (hates me)

  1. joeyfullystated

    May 3, 2014 at 12:30 pm

    Omaword, I will try not to write a massive comment, but I COULD. I have a little brown rug with a floral pattern in front of the door. My dog is a strawberry blonde. Need I say more? The Dyson has a “pet tool” which is super effective, but which also kills my ears and rattles my brain, so I don’t use it.
    This house has three carpeted rooms, and the carpet wears well. It’s a tricolor tan, which isn’t bad decor-wise. I want it GONE, lol! I like hard floors. I’d rather bat about with a broom and a dust mop than haul out the vacuum, and I mean it! I do think we will keep carpet in our bedroom, although something low nap and light in color, because it’s a bloody sanctuary from the rest of the house…
    I am glad now, much more than I expected, to no longer have stairs. This is the first one-level home we’ve ever lived in, and I don’t miss sweeping stairs or cleaning filthy handprints off the stairwell! Hmph!

     
    • meANXIETYme

      May 3, 2014 at 4:14 pm

      We have both carpet and tile on the main floor, and honestly I’d rather have the carpet as Butthead is a drooler. I’d rather not see all those drool stains on the tile all the time. (don’t ask me how I feel about drool on the carpet, but at least I can’t SEE it — and I never walk barefoot or in socks anymore, so it don’t matter if I have to walk on it on the carpet.) If we had ended up with the carpet on the stairs that we have in our family room and media room, I’d be okay with it. At least those carpets give up the yuck to the vacuums, but that damn fancy stair carpeting…

       
      • joeyfullystated

        May 3, 2014 at 4:17 pm

        The stair carpeting is very pretty though!

         
      • meANXIETYme

        May 3, 2014 at 6:13 pm

        Thanks. LOL Ain’t pretty always harder to take care of? I mean, you would know! 😉

         
      • joeyfullystated

        May 3, 2014 at 6:31 pm

        hehe

         

Leave a Reply

 
