RSS

Technology hop

29 Apr

I like technology. It was my career for many years, so I understand how it has a role in our lives. I enjoy technology, to a degree. But I am not fanatical about technology. I do not want to run out and buy the latest and greatest…and in fact, I often resist that because I don’t want to have to learn things all over again. Eventually, it is likely that I will embrace the new technology, but in time. I am a thinker, an evaluator, and I need time.

I have a cell phone that I bought in 2008, that I love. Guys, no joke, I love this phone. It’s perfect for me, and it does everything I need it to do. For the first, oh, three years or so, I only used it to make calls. Literally. Then we added text messaging to our service, and all the sudden I was texting like a fiend…to Hub. No one else, because why would I need to text anyone? I worked at home and I could always email or instant message. I never saw a need to have data (we had it turned off on our service) or to browse the web while out. Waiting room at the doctor’s office (which was mostly what I went out to and had a need to wait), I sat quietly and WAITED.

Here’s my phone…

Isn’t it cute? It flips closed, it’s compact and fits into the smallest purse I have. I made my own ringtones from music I love, I have pictures attached to each phone number! What’s not to love? No data costs, it holds a battery charge FOREVER, and takes no time to charge when I need it to. The calls are crisp and clear, it has a speaker phone when I need it, and the keyboard is REAL. I can touch it and type on it like a mo-fo. I love my phone. If it were up to me, I’d never upgrade. I’d never let it go. I’d use it until it stopped working and then I’d hunt ebay to replace it.

But nooooooooooooo. Hub comes to me and says, “We need new phones.” So I tell him to get himself a new phone and leave me outta that mess. But he says if he upgrades (his phone is only slightly newer than mine), he has to get a new plan with Sprint because all the new phones require data. And then my part of the plan will be kaput. So I tell him to suck it, we’re not getting new phones because I’m not getting rid of my phone. And then he tells me the speaker on his phone is broken…he can only take and make calls on his bluetooth ear piece, and he isn’t going to work like that. Pfffffft. So it’s MY fault his phone is broken? So I try to convince him to get another “dumb” phone so I can keep my phone and our current plan, but he’s not falling for it. I don’t get it, because he already carries TWO smart phones (in addition to his current dumb phone) that are paid for by his employers. So why does he have to have ANOTHER smart phone that WE have to pay for? Why, I ask you! WHY? And then he reminds me that my father has been complaining that HIS phone isn’t working right either (for months, actually), and we share a family plan with my parents.

We’ve known about my father’s phone issue for months, and Hub has been having intermittent problems for a while, too. But when we started discussing upgrading phones and plan, we started talking about switching carriers. Do you have any idea how difficult it is to switch carriers? More importantly, what a royal pain in the ass it is to decipher phone plans these days? We researched changing carriers probably four times in the last year, but always gave up because trying to figure out the plans (and costs) was too hard. Now, Hub was telling me, it had to be done.

So we researched again, and even went to a real live store to get the lowdown in plain English. But I hated all the phones. They’re all freaking smart phones and I cannot stand those virtual keyboards. I like the feel of a real keyboard, texture and shape and click. They had two “slide” phones with keyboards, but they got horrible reviews and were actually kind of expensive. So I tried to look at some smart phones, but in addition to the stupid keyboard issue, they’re also all SO Big. I carry a TINY purse, ya’ll. It’s like 4.25″ high and less than 3.25″ wide and 2.25″ deep…no joke.

purseplus

I spent the majority of my life carrying HUGE purses with the intention of having everything I might need. Then I realized that I wanted to just be able to go out with a couple of credit cards, my phone, and my keys. I didn’t intend for that to be an all the time thing, but it morphed into that. And my cute little phone fit right into my cute little purse. But the new phones? They’re so big, I don’t think they’ll fit into my tiny purse. So now not only do I have to pick a phone I don’t want, but I have to go through the hassle of trying to find a new purse…ugh.

Anyway, after perusing the options at the AT&T store we went to (they have a pretty flexible family plan), we announced to my parents that we were taking them to the store to pick out new phones. And then my brother (who lives with them) tells us that he gets a discount through his work for AT&T, which is why he uses AT&T. So we all five of us tromp back to the AT&T store with the expectation that we’re going to let my brother convert his plan to a family plan, and then add the four of us to his discounted plan. Bonus, HE’LL get the bills for my parents from here forward, which Hub and I have been doing (and mostly paying for) for the last 8 years or so. (Every now and then my dad would recall that he needed to pay us and he’d write us a check, but their phones were “add-on” lines, so it wasn’t a huge cost for us.) So here are all five of us in the store, my father grumping about buying a new “dumb” phone (no smart phone for him) and have to move all his contacts and how the new phone won’t fit his old clip and blah blah. And my mother (who had a baby-smart phone that she hardly did anything with) started looking at an iPhone! In the end, my mom took my brother’s old phone (which is like 6 months old) so he could get an upgraded phone, my dad picked out a dumb flip-phone that looks exactly like what he has now, Hub picked out a fancy new metal phone, and I was prepared to pick out the smallest smart phone with the longest battery life (I’d researched this at home). Only problem was, my phone was no longer on the display in the store. WTF. It’s a pretty recent phone, and it was there ten days before when Hub and I went researching. So I asked and the sales associate looked at me like she’d never heard of such a phone in her entire career (of probably ten minutes). So she went to ask someone else who said they didn’t have those in the store anymore and they’d have to order it off the web for me. WHAT?!

We spend a good two hours in the store (moving phone lines from one carrier to another is apparently really hard, ya’ll) as they attempt to take care of getting everyone’s new phone setup and activated and configured. Me? I get nothing. I leave the store with nothing…but my good old purple LG Lotus. My new smart phone is being sent to the house sometime next week. I get another week of my cute little purple flowered phone and my cute little tiny black purse. After that, it’s smart phone central for me. I’m not even putting up a picture of my new phone. It’s a boring smart phone with no personality, no real keyboard, and really expensive data plan. And all I want to do is make phone calls and text. Pffft. I’m hoping to figure out how to TURN OFF data so I don’t accidentally spend extra money on data I don’t need or want to use.

I might have to put my old phone into a frame and put it on the wall once it gets turned off permanently. So sad.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 29, 2014 in anxiety, change, family, hub

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “Technology hop

  1. April

    April 29, 2014 at 10:30 am

    The only thing I seriously like about my smart phone is the fact that my iPad was too heavy to carry around. In order to reduce paper clutter, I have been trying to go green and use mechanical devices. My iPad and phone sync, so I don’t have to have three calendars. Other than that, it’s a text machine with too small of a keypad for my chubby little fingers. Most times, I leave it at home.

     
    • meANXIETYme

      April 29, 2014 at 10:48 am

      Yeah, I tried using Hub’s smart phone to send text messages and I fat-finger every time. It’s so frustrating. I hope I’ll get used to it, otherwise I’ll be making more phone calls and typing less texts. I really don’t use my phone that often anyway, since I am at home most of the time.

       
  2. joeyfullystated

    April 29, 2014 at 1:40 pm

    I will not even tell you the horror story we suffered when we switched mobile carriers. I can’t do it without swearing madly.
    I had two Blackberries, and I loved them. I wanted another one. They had REAL KEYS! I hated my Android like whoa, but it was free, blah. I love my iPhone. I know it’s trite to say so, but it’s so freakin easy to understand and I do not suffer any trouble texting. When we switched providers, it was the iPhone that was free, and while I initially pouted and wished for somethin else, I am so loving it, and hope I get another one, and another one, and another one…
    And no, I do not understand why your husband needs another phone, lol — Men!

     
    • meANXIETYme

      April 29, 2014 at 2:14 pm

      We’d been with Sprint for so long, we forgot what a PITA it was to move carriers. And as it stands now, the new smart phone that was supposda arrive today is delayed until Thursday. Thanks, AT&T. You’re really winning us over…
      I actually WANTED a Blackberry because it had keys, but Hub said he would not support it because he hates Blackberry phones these days. Hub had both an iPhone and an Android and I thought he would get an iPhone because he hardly carries his Droid phone. But he went straight for the new HTC M8 thingy, which is an Android. At this point when I look at the Android and the iPhone, they seem the same to me (and we have iPads all over the house, so I “get” how easy it is to use Apple products). Then again I may be changing my tune in a couple of weeks once I’m stuck with my new Droid phone. Bleh.
      The WHOLE reason I went with the Droid, though, was for the battery life. (Also, apparently I can download different keyboard apps for the Droid that might help me with my fat-finger problems.)

       
      • joeyfullystated

        April 29, 2014 at 2:18 pm

        I had to use a stylus on my Android phone 😦 I rarely texted anyone. I would text them to say “I’ll call when I get home, hate my phone.”
        It did have a much longer battery life, I’ll grant you that!

         
      • meANXIETYme

        April 29, 2014 at 2:33 pm

        LOL Maybe I should be finding a stylus, eh? 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
