RSS

Sooooo sensitive

10 Apr

I have said in the past that I am incredibly sensitive to medications, whether it’s OTC or prescription. I don’t take anything, which includes tylenol and advil and aleve, or even cold medication. I’m also one of those people who acute hearing, including the electronic noises in the department stores (and the humming florescent lights above)…and I have a sensitive nose (with accompany nausea sometimes). My stomach is sensitive, my nose is sensitive, my ears are sensitive… only my eyes are forgiving.

To that end, I know that science has found out that there are pain receptors in our body, and that some people have higher pain sensitivity than others. I’m not talking about a pain “threshold” (as in how much pain you can endure) but rather the actual amount of pain that is required to happen in order for someone to feel it. I am pretty sure they have been able to pin these pain receptors to a measurable number, but I don’t know how they do it. What I know is, my pain receptors are high…as in I feel pain before other people. This is not bragging, just as my sensitive nose, ears, and stomach would not be considered bragging. They are just facts.

And as with those issues, the pain thing is something I have to learn to tolerate. Without the ability to dull pain–because of my medication sensitivities–I feel like I spend a lot of time in pain. Varying amounts of pain, but pain nonetheless. If I had a superhero power, I suspect I would be “Super Sensitive”. I wish I had better news for the superhero community, but there it is.

I don’t like it, having these superpowers. I don’t like hearing all those noises, or smelling all those smells, and I certainly don’t like feeling all this pain. I am pretty sure I have an okay threshold for pain, because otherwise I feel like I’d be in tears all the time. Is it because I live with pain so much? Like, I had a swollen gum the other day and couldn’t even close my mouth. The gum was throbbing painfully, and I was sitting there doing filing like it was absolutely normal to be in that kind of pain. I don’t have that pain every day, but not a day goes by where I don’t have pain of some sort. Pain that probably someone else might not even feel because their pain receptors are different than mine.

I don’t know. Even where this post is going… I’ve been so caught up in trying to find a new home/auto insurance policy (been with the same group & agent for over 15 years) that I haven’t even thought of things to blog about, so I’m behind in my posts.

Okay, this is meandering and I’m done.

Super Sensitive is out.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 10, 2014 in anxiety, health, medications, pain

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Sooooo sensitive

  1. joeyfullystated

    April 10, 2014 at 10:01 pm

    I’m in your category, but I still think you’ve got me beat. Hurrah?
    I tell you, as I get older, I’m so used to my hands hurting, that when I get other pain, I’m kinda pissy, like I have enough pain already. Remember when my shoulder was messed up? I was like, “Great, will I need to get used to new pain?”

     
    • meANXIETYme

      April 10, 2014 at 10:24 pm

      Hurrah for you, but not for Super Sensitive!
      Yeah, I’m at that point with my knees and shoulder. Just seems like the pain is always there that it becomes a new “normal.” Then my gum swelled up and was throbbing and painful and I couldn’t chew and I was like “really? cuz I needed this shit?” But at least I know that is temporary…makes it a bit easier to deal with. I guess I’m not even surprised when I get a new chronic pain. Pissed awf, yes. Surprised? No.
      Ah, it’s the life… (NOT)

       
  2. April

    April 11, 2014 at 4:08 pm

    I don’t think I’m super sensitive, but I know what chronic pain feels like.

     
    • meANXIETYme

      April 11, 2014 at 4:23 pm

      Yeah, chronic pain feels like SUCKING. I’m sorry you’re in the chronic pain club, too. 😦

       

Leave a Reply

 
