RSS

You put one foot in, you take one foot out

24 Mar

I doubt highly I’ll be doing much shaking about. *sigh*

I had my follow-up with my orthopedic doctor today, post MRI of both of my knees. I’m not fond of the MRI process, but luckily this was an open MRI and the technician was very nice. I was uncomfortable–mostly because of my back–but I made it through without any real anxiety attacks or panic attacks. There were a couple of points where I was not thrilled, but I centered myself and kept myself in the moment…and I completed both knees and got myself out of there in tact.

Back to today’s follow-up. My regular ortho was apparently running late, so his colleague came in to get started talking to me. She brought up my MRI pictures and started pointing out good things…and bad things. Part way through the conversation, my ortho joined us.

Good news…no meniscus damage in either knee, and although both show normal meniscus wear, they are also considered to be in good shape. Yay. Bad news…I’ve got arthritis in both knees that are slightly more advanced than someone my age. Boo.

Good news…no surgery required to repair my right knee. Yay. Bad news…even PT is not going to resolve my pain or the glorious popping in my right knee. Boo.

Good news…nothing physical blocking my left leg from straightening all the way. Yay. Bad news…it may never straighten out, even with continued PT. Boo.

Good news…the doctor doesn’t want to see me back unless something changes that requires attention. Yay. Bad news…I have to continue to live with the pain and limitations that I have right now (and they might get worse). Boo.

So the appointment was mixed. And on top of that, he suggested that I could continue with PT to straighten my left leg, but only if I felt I could accomplish it without pain. He said he would be satisfied with the extension that I have now, but that it is my choice. The issue I have with staying as-is, is that I walk with a limp because the knee is bent slightly, which throws my entire body off-balance. I believe it is affecting my back and my neck, and really my whole system. I think it is responsible for some of the trigger points I have in the area, too. If I stay as-is, I continue to make my body cock-eyed. If I attempt to continue with PT, I could put myself in more pain for possibly no reward.

Muh.

Meanwhile, he did tell me that my right knee, the one with the major pop (which comes from a defect behind the knee cap or on the bone that rubs against the knee cap…I can’t rememember which), will always give me limitations on some movements. Like getting up from low chairs (check) and walking on inclines (check). He said if it came to a point, I could get a brace to help me with any major activities. He wants me to leave that as a last resort because he says it could become a crutch…and instead he wants me to continue to strengthen the muscles around the knee to act as a “natural” brace. I’m already on that path with PT, so that gets a check-mark, too.

And thus, my appointment with the ortho ends and I go home. And wonder WTF to do now.

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “You put one foot in, you take one foot out

  1. joeyfullystated

    March 24, 2014 at 2:59 pm

    😦 Sorry. I hope there are better days ahead.

     

Leave a Reply

 
