RSS

On traveling (pt 2)

21 Mar

So I started talking about the trip we’re going to take for Hub’s birthday. I said something always happens to screw up our trips, which is why we didn’t plan far in advance for this one. And I’m being so careful about what I’m doing and where I’m going and the energy I’m expending in advance of this trip. But hey, life happens, right?

Don’t get me wrong, we’re still on schedule for the trip. Earlier this week I kind of had a drinking problem. I wish I could say it was a fun night of imbibing on something delicious, but truthfully, I don’t drink alcohol. I have nothing against it, but I don’t really like the taste of most of it. What really happened is that I was attempting to drink water with my dinner, and I swallowed wrong, tried not to spit water all over the table, tried to gasp for air, and ended up inhaling a chunk of water down my wind-pipe. Now I’m sure we’ve all done this a time or two, but as it turns out I actually did inhale the water down my wind-pipe, unlike most times. Most times your muscles do their work and clamp your wind-pipe closed without forethought, and the water is blocked out of that pipe. But you cough and gag and gasp like it happened. But no, I can’t do anything halfway. Because I was unable to react quickly enough and take the glass of water away from my mouth, during the gasp for air, I tilted the water glass and ended up inhaling that water right down the old wind-pipe. And then I gagged and spit and gulped and spewed and…well, it was horrifying and terrifying at the same time. I spent the next half hour throwing up and crying and the next two days coughing and clearing my throat. Only today, this afternoon, has my throat started to recover and I’m not coughing and clearing my throat every four seconds. But the whole episode made me tired and feeling stressed, and Hub offered to reschedule our weekend. I said no right away, because I really want this to be a fun and happy weekend for him. We so rarely do something like this…

And in that vein…pretty much every activity that I’ve tried to put together for the weekend has fallen apart. I wanted to go on a sleigh ride or horseback riding, but I called today and the sleigh ride group quite rudely told me they had nothing available for Saturday (and are closed Sundays). I contacted the group who does horseback riding and they said the trails are too wet and muddy for rides. I did more research into the snow tubing but there are weight restrictions, and so that is out for me and Hub. There are lots of activities in this lovely area we are going to, but it’s really for in-season stuff. Summer and winter (warm or snow). We are kind of mid-way between the seasons and the options are pretty limited.

Hub says he’s okay with just seeing sights and being together. We’re looking at alternate options for things to do and/or places to go, but I’m not very hopeful. It seems that with the wet weather and the mid-season timing, we’re not going to have many options. I’ll bring my trusty camera, but I hope to spend the majority of the time enjoying the moment and not trying to take pictures, if that makes sense.

Meanwhile, someday spring will come…

Soon, my pretties!

Soon, my pretties!

(ignoring the fact that they are calling for snow again next week…)

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 21, 2014 in anxiety, control, crying, hub, stress

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “On traveling (pt 2)

  1. joeyfullystated

    March 21, 2014 at 11:20 am

    Well thank goodness you’re on the mend! I suppose next time, you’ll just spew the water back out? I hope?

     
    • meANXIETYme

      March 21, 2014 at 12:21 pm

      LOL I was sitting at the kitchen table with Hub trying to eat dinner. I didn’t want to spew all over all the food. As it turns out, I clearly should have as I didn’t finish my dinner anyway. And Hub would have survived, too. I think I was instinctively thinking that it was impolite/gross to spew half-swallowed water all over the table… You don’t really get a lot of time to think these things over in the moment. 😉

       
      • joeyfullystated

        March 21, 2014 at 3:41 pm

        Right? Way to be lady like 😉

         

Leave a Reply

 
