RSS

Hair raising appointment

18 Mar

I went to see the nutritionist so I could talk to her about where to go next, as she has been helping me heal my whole system. We were originally working on the heartburn and indigestion and stomach issues that I was having…especially after getting off Prilosec. When you go off one of those types of medication, you get unbelievable rebound symptoms that are basically worse than the original symptoms you had. It was not a pleasant time, but I made it through, and then we started on healing my stomach and digestive system. At this point, I feel that we have at least tackled the heartburn and GERD symptoms…much better than I really was on Prilosec. It leads me to believe that the nutritionist was right, that I didn’t have enough acid in my stomach, rather than too much (doctors always say you have too much stomach acid and then they put you on acid reducing medication, which only makes things worse).

So now that those symptoms have been addressed, I wanted to talk to the nutritionist about my weight gain and my carbohydrate sensitivities. I want to know what I should be focusing on to turn my weight gain around and get some more pressure off my knees. She, of course, sympathized that I’m putting on weight even while I’m upping my exercise and watching my food intake. But the thing is, if I even take so much as a small plate of carbs (like, say, white potatoes), my weight will go up. But if I don’t eat the carbs, I feel like crap and my mental and physical condition goes down. If I eat gelato as a snack (my fave!) in the evening or afternoon, I don’t put weight on. WTH? So she indicated that my system may be overly sensitive to carbs versus sugar. I’m not entirely sure how to handle that issue yet.

What I did get from the nutritionist was the trauma of watching her head toward me with a pair of scissors. Without any salon training, I might add.

We decided that getting a hair analysis might be helpful to put me on the right path. The analysis would not only tell me if I’m missing vitamins and minerals, but also what kind of foods are best for my metabolism. But the sight of watching my nutritionist coming at me with those scissors…yikes! I mean, I knew we would be talking about the hair analysis option, but I pictured her yanking out a couple of strands from the root…from multiple spots on my head so they could have options. Instead, she plucked the scissors from her desk and told me that the lab needs hair that is close to the scalp. And that they need a bunch of it.

Whuh?

So she flipped my hair over (it’s a bit below shoulder length at the moment) and started hacking at my hair. She came up with a clump of it and put it onto a little paper scale thing, and then announced that it wasn’t enough! So she went back again to the same area! and hacked again. Unnnngh… To add insult to injury, she ended up snipping off the ends of the hair and only giving them the clump that came from the closest part of my scalp because they don’t use the “dead ends” part. Now I have these short fuzzy areas under my hair that are just making me nuts. Hub says you can’t tell from looking at the back of my head, but I can feel them. I just wish she had taken the two clumps from separate areas so that it wasn’t such a large area of semi-short-baldness.

When I go back to get my hair cut, the hairdresser is probably going to ask me WTH happened. I mean, you can’t miss the difference in length.

So the nutritionist said 2-3 weeks before we get the analysis back. We’ll see what happens. Stay tuned!

Also, SNOW AGAIN!

Note dog snout print in the snow on the bench

Note dog snout print in the snow on the bench

March Snow Trees

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Hair raising appointment

  1. joeyfullystated

    March 18, 2014 at 11:41 am

    Clever. I’ll be interested in the results as well 🙂 Sorry about yer hairs. :/

     
    • meANXIETYme

      March 18, 2014 at 11:52 am

      I’ll update, of course. 🙂
      The hairs aren’t a big loss, it’s just that now I keep messing with that spot because it feels fuzzy. LOL

       

Leave a Reply

 
