RSS

Trigger point therapy

12 Mar

I have had trigger point therapy before. When I first got sick, I had a terrific massage therapist who used both East and West techniques for her clients. She was French, she did shiatsu, massage, physical therapy, accupuncture, accupressure, and probably more. I liked her a lot; she helped me very much over the course of eight months. But at the time, I was in so much pain overall and felt so crappy, I don’t recall how intense the trigger point release was. These last couple of weeks, E has been doing trigger point release for me, and it has hurt like hell.

I have two areas that E has been working on. E is incredibly adept at finding the trigger points, and every time she finds these particular ones, I end up clutching the table and attempting not to bawl (or scream). At least, not out loud. Today I had to wipe my eyes a couple of times because the pain was so intense. At one point, she was working hard on a trigger point that didn’t seem to want to give in (not a shocker for me, as my body is pretty stubborn), and she asked me how my weekend was. For once in our entire time working together, I was really only able to mutter that I couldn’t concentrate on our conversation because not only was the trigger point burning like a mo’fo, but the pain was referring up my back like smokey fingers burning pathways toward my neck. It was bad, ya’ll. E apologized, but didn’t let up, because the knot needed to be released. I just wish it didn’t hurt so damn much.

E went to a class over the weekend for a technique called “dry needling” for trigger points. She thought I might be a candidate for the technique, so she was excited to go to the training. However, when I saw her at my appointment today, she kind of nixed the idea. She told me that the technique was pretty painful…worse than the pain I was dealing with as we were talking (while she was releasing the trigger point in my thigh). She said she and her partner had to stop several times because it became so painful they couldn’t handle it. And they both have pretty good thresholds for pain. So I was just saying NO NO NO, keep those dry needles away from me! I couldn’t imagine the amount of pain they had gone through over a three day period of training. Yikes.

We aren’t even sure the knee pain I’m dealing with (on one side anyway) is from a trigger point or not. It actually came to me after she worked on the trigger point on my butt… I went to my big fancy book, The Trigger Point Therapy Workbook by Clair Davies, and went searching for the pages I had marked previously. One of them was for the exact spot where the pain had been bothering me. I think I had guessed in the past that maybe it was a trigger point and had tried to release the trigger point myself, but hadn’t been successful. But hey, why not bring it up to E! So I brought my book with me to one of my appointments and she started working on the specific trigger point I had marked in the book, and I’m partly hopeful that it’s working. The thing is, immediately after the release, the pain has subsided. But it doesn’t seem to last long…which is disappointing. I’m not sure if we can pin the pain on the trigger point or not… (there’s a birthday game for you! Pin the therapist’s hands on the trigger point?) Then again, the trigger point on my butt is taking some time to work, too. But the relief from that one lasts longer…

Who the hell knows, right? And yet we persist…

Tomorrow? MRI of both of my knees. Two hours in the MRI = so much fun. NOT.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
