RSS

Traveling

06 Mar

So, Hub’s birthday is coming up. We rarely travel because neither of us really sleeps well in hotel beds. We’ve tried hotels, bed & breakfast locations, inns, rental houses…it never seems to be relaxing. At some point, we just gave up and stopped traveling.

Every now and then we get the bug to try again, but the truth is we rarely follow through. But this birthday is one of those ones that ends in a zero, so I kind of pushed Hub a little. After much hemming and hawing and waiting for other things to occur, we made the decision to do it. We’ve made reservations for an area that has a big lovely lake, snow activities, and lots of restaurants. I’m looking forward to it almost as much as I am not.

It isn’t so much about the travel itself, because my Hub is very careful with me and my physical condition. If I need to stop to stretch or use the bathroom, we stop, no questions asked. I will take snacks for the drive that I can eat, and there are grocery stores there (and the room has a kitchenette), so food isn’t an issue. The issue is, every time we have set ourselves for a vacation, something has happened that required us to cancel. For the most part, I’ve been sick with some kind of issue or flare. One time, Hub came down with the flu as we were driving (over 6 hours) to the beach. He was in the driver’s seat, sweating and swearing, and when we arrived at the B&B where we were to stay, he collapsed on the bed and slept for eight hours straight. Then he spent the remainder of our trip hopped up on cold medication…and he was near recovered by the time we arrived home at the end of the vacation. I purposefully waited until the last minute to really make these reservations, in the hopes that nothing would come up to get in the way, for him or for me. In the past we’ve planned vacations months in advance, but that isn’t the way things work out for us. I’m hoping this will work out better.

Another concern is whether I’ll be up to doing things physically. I’d love to go horseback riding, but I haven’t been in ahem ahem years and horseback riding for a healthy person can be physically taxing (if they are not accustomed), let alone for someone like me. And Hub has never been on a horse. We’re hoping they’ll be able to do a sleigh ride instead, but that’s weather dependent. Also, there is snow tubing, but I have never been and the idea scares the crap out of me. If I bounce wrong or slip off…zomg, I could end up in bed for weeks. But I want Hub to do fun things, and he will often turn things away if I can’t do them with him.

So we’ll see how it goes. I’m going to not think about the trip until the day before we leave. It’s going to be a long weekend, so I won’t have to pack a ton or prep much. My parents are taking our dogs for the couple of days we’ll be gone. I told them we would plan to take the dogs, but my mother vetoed that and said they would keep them. It’s going to be a strain on them, too, but she wouldn’t have offered if she didn’t mean it. And I’m taking her at her word on that. If she only knew…

Snow day activities

Snow day activities

Good Lord help her if it snows while we’re gone. The three dogs were out running like crazy-machines today in the freezing cold weather after the snow stopped. When they get going, they really get going…and they’re hard to handle. I’m hope my brother is home to help them wrangle all three dogs, because they are a handful when they are together! Been there, done that when they were out of town….and that was during warmer months when I could kick them all outside to run off energy.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 6, 2014 in anxiety, control, dogs, family, hub, snow

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Traveling

  1. joeyfullystated

    March 6, 2014 at 4:16 pm

    I hope you have a WONDERFUL time!

     
    • meANXIETYme

      March 6, 2014 at 8:52 pm

      Thanks, we’re sure gonna try! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
