RSS

Really, I’m a 90-year-old woman

03 Mar

I’d like to introduce you to me–today–as the real 90-year-old-woman I am. Every single bone in my body is telling me that I am actually 90 years old. It all hurts…pretty much every single joint. It’s been getting worse over the last couple of weeks. I’m not sure what happened, but I’ve been heading downhill in terms of pain and ability to move without said pain. The newest place is my hips. Originally, it was only my left hip, but now both hurt…along with both knees, my back, my arms, and my finger joints.

It suuuuuuuucks. I’ve just spent the past half hour crying on and off. I’m frustrated and I’m tired. I haven’t been able to sleep because I can’t get comfortable, which of course makes everything worse when you are sleep-deprived. And I know I’ve written about this before, but today…right now, it’s worse than it has been in years. I am literally shuffling around to move. I considered borrowing a walker from my parents’ house, but I don’t want them to know how badly I am feeling.

I have PT today. I’m not sure how I’m going to make it through. I don’t want to burst into tears in the PT office. I’ve already done that twice here at home.

***

So I went to PT and talked to E (my physical therapist) about the pain in my hips. I told her how much pain I was in, and that I was feeling like this must be some kind of systemic flare. But that at that moment, I was having so much pain in my hips, so could she check it out. She checked my back first and found I was out of alignment in several places, so she did some adjustments. Then she found my ribs on one side were not moving the same as the other side, so she tried to do an adjustment there. When she was done with that, she started checking out where the pain in my hip was coming from. Fortunately, or unfortunately, she found that the pain wasn’t coming from my hip, it was coming from my back and butt. And as soon as she started working on the trigger points, I remembered… We’d been through this before, last spring, when I was having back issues. She found some holy-hell trigger points on my glutes that made me cry it hurt so much. Rinse and repeat. I was nearly in tears, clutching the bed I was laying on as she worked on the trigger points again.

Good news is, since I’ve been home, I’ve been up and down out of my recliner and the hip area hasn’t hurt. So clearly she found the problem, but damn that hurt. I’m going back later in the week to have her work on it again, but she reminded me of the exercises I need to do to keep the areas stretched and loose.

This doesn’t address my arms or my knees, but if I’m having trigger point flares in my glutes, it stands to reason I’m probably having flares all over. Which blows chunks. I’m trying to eat more anti-inflammatory foods (made a pineapple-walnut smoothie with greek yogurt this afternoon which rocked the casbah), so maybe that will help, too.

I wish I could go to E every week forever. Insurance tells me otherwise, unfortunately. Last year our insurance had no max on the visits, but we changed plans this year and now I have a cap. Fucking sucks, that’s for sure.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Really, I’m a 90-year-old woman

  1. joeyfullystated

    March 3, 2014 at 11:41 am

    I am only liking this since you feel better!
    My immediate thought was RA flares, but I’m glad you’re feelin better. Anti-inflammatory foods FTW! I had my dose of walnuts with yogurt this morning, too, but sad to say I didn’t have pineapple! I love pineapple somethin fierce! And hey, have you ever noticed how the a-i foods are also anti-anxiety foods? Also, I’m hungry, lol!
    Hope you’re not feeling 90 again any time soon!

     
    • meANXIETYme

      March 3, 2014 at 12:49 pm

      Yeah, I’ve been tested for RA but it keeps coming back negative. Tested for Lupus, too, also negative. My Rheumy says he’s stumped, which is why they are still calling it myofascial pain syndrome (a catch-all title).
      I love me some pineapple, fresh or (fresh) frozen. I love making smoothies with it and with cherries, which are supposed to help you sleep. I’ve only started adding the walnuts and it’s actually pretty good (but I skip the cherries during the day). Walnuts eaten whole seem to leave me with some sort of weird dry mouth feeling, which is why I’ve tried adding them to the smoothie.

       

Leave a Reply

 
