RSS

Introduction to Butthead

16 Nov

I hemmed and hawed over this title because it seems just too weird. But truthfully, this is what I call her a lot of the time, so it’s apt. APT I tell you!

We adopted Butthead long-distance from Oklahoma, having never met her. I saw her picture on petfinder and couldn’t resist the cute-but-dumb looking face she had. 🙂 No, really, there was something in her eyes that struck me, so I contacted the rescue to find out more about her. At the time, we were looking for a large, hairy, female dog around 3-4 years old. Turned out that Butthead was closer to 18 months, which should have been my first warning sign, but I was so struck by her appearance and the description we got of her from her foster. The foster seemed to imply that she was calm for her age, easy-going and got along with all the dogs in he had in his home. Since we were looking for a dog that was easy-going and got along with every dog she met, it seemed like a perfect match. (Now I laugh/cry at the thought.) Truthfully, she does get along with every dog she has met so far, but she is far from calm and easy-going. She’s energetic and rambunctious and needy and … a big, giant puppy.

At this exact moment, this is what I’m seeing while I’m attempting to type this post:

When are you going to feed me?

When are you going to feed me?

See, right around this time, Butthead gets a snacky-poo (along with Le Moo) and if I’m not on time, I get THE STARE. You must excuse the goobers in the corners of her eyes because no matter how many times we clean them, they reappear. I’ve never had a dog with such amazing eye-goober production.

Butthead is part newfoundland, with the sad eyes and the big giant hairy ears…and some mild-to-moderate slobber. Dog bless you if you get a head in your lap because 70% of the time it will leave you with slobber marks all over your pants. Hub likes to lay on the couch and oftentimes Butthead will come up to him and put her head on his chest…and leave his shirt wet and slobbery. It’s cute, sure, but it’s so gross.

Did I mention that Butthead is turning into a digger?

Looooove you. Where's the food?

Looooove you. Where’s the food?

I mean, it can be hard to be mad at that face. But trust me, when she’s out there digging her way to the very center of the earth, it is maddening. I know how to correct her from doing things she shouldn’t be, but the problem is she KNOWS she shouldn’t be digging so she won’t dig when I’m outside with her. But leave her outside on her own for too long (say ten minutes or so) and she’ll find a nice spot to start digging. By the time I get out to her position (usually out at the farthest end of the yard), she’ll have run away from the spot because she sees me coming. I know, you’ll tell me she’s bored, but that isn’t it. She’s digging for sticks (technically, she finds ROOTS in the ground and digs at them thinking they are sticks) because she loves chewing on sticks. She loves running with sticks. She freaking loves sticks. Have I also mentioned that she likes to eat rabbit poop? Also something she knows not to do because she won’t do it when I’m with her, but if she’s across the yard or I’m in the house, she’s nomming on that damn rabbit poop. *sigh*

On occasion she can be sweet. I’m still at the 70/30 feeling…70% annoying and 30% sweet. Don’t get me wrong, she’s cute, you can see that. But she’s sooooo annoying. Getting her to settle down is a struggle, so most of the time I’m having to fend off the drooling, the licking, the pawing, the barking (OMG she’s such a barker), the eating toys…constantly being on guard is so tiring.

Are you done working?

Are you done working?

Sometimes she tries so hard to be good, but she just can’t seem to master it. I know we’re lucky because she freaking LOVES Le Moo. She wants to be Le Moo’s best friend (which Le Moo is just MEH about), so there’s no aggression or other issues between them. But damn, she’s such a pesty little sister to Le Moo…probably equally as annoying to Le Moo as she is to us.

Are we be-fri yet?

Are we be-fri yet?

I know we’ve been lucky because other than being annoying, she really hasn’t destroyed anything. Yes, she peed and pooped in the house, and yes our foyer is now filled with a giant dog crate, and yes every soft toy we’ve given her she has attempted to eat (not just CHEW but EAT)… But our carpet and drywall and furniture are all in tact. Our yard is a bit swiss cheese-like, but she hasn’t been destructive.

If only I could get her to like being brushed. Or at least tolerate being brushed. It’s a good thing her coat doesn’t get tangled despite its length. She does stink, though. She loves to roll on the ground–which we have almost eliminated with the “leave it” command–and she definitely rolls around when she’s playing with Cray-cray Lab. We’ve only bathed her once in the five months we’ve had her and I wasn’t involved in the process. We’ll see how it goes next time, I guess.

So there you go. Butthead in all her gory.

Is it play time now?

Is it play time now?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 16, 2013 in Butthead, dogs, love, stress

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Introduction to Butthead

  1. joeyfullystated

    November 16, 2013 at 4:22 pm

    “She freaking loves sticks.” — this is what you should tell people when they ask what Butthead is like, lol! She’s very, very cute, eye boogies and all 🙂

     
    • meANXIETYme

      November 16, 2013 at 6:34 pm

      LMAO I will remember that. Freakin’ stick lover. Wait…that sounds weird. 😉

       
      • joeyfullystated

        November 16, 2013 at 7:29 pm

        LMAO! oh LOLOLOLOL! lil bit 😉

         

Leave a Reply

 
