RSS

Event complete

04 Nov

We had a big event at our house over the weekend, where we hosted several people for 25 hour of gaming for charity. It was part of the Extra Life organization, supporting Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals. This was a difficult day for us because Hub is still dealing with his ankle injury which left him less than mobile. It also meant I was doing the majority of the work to feed and clean up after everyone. On the other hand, I slept overnight, whereas Hub and the others participating in the marathon stayed awake to play games (of varying types) for the entire 25 hours (24 hours plus the time change).

I’m tired at this point, even though I slept for five or six hours overnight. It’s hard to have people in your house for all those hours straight. It’s hard to feed people you don’t know very well (they’re his friends, not mine). It’s hard to make the food work out right and on time for a large group of people (I made dinner and breakfast for Sunday, but we ordered out for lunch on Saturday). I worry that people won’t be able to eat what I make or that the food won’t be good. I stress over that kind of thing because although I do fine most of the time, I don’t cook often. Mostly because it stresses me out. I worry that people might get sick from my food.

As far as I know, no one got sick. Was the food gourmet? No, but it was serviceable, and no one complained. Everyone seemed happy to be eating and several went back for seconds during both meals. I cleaned up pretty much on my own, since I wasn’t participating in the game-play, loaded and emptied dishwashers multiple times, washed dishes, took the recycling out. And I took care of the dogs so they stayed out of the way as much as possible. Last year during this charity event (which we hosted as well), I was sick and unable to participate in any way. And as a matter of fact, Hub had to make sure to take care of me AND all the people staying with us, including making food and cleaning up. My mother came over to help me some of the time, but a lot of the time I was alone in bed too ill to do anything. I’m so pleased that despite the stress preparing for this event (as well as doing everything over the 25+ hours), I was able to do as much as I did.

I’m thankful. I have to continue to remind myself that I’m able to do things I couldn’t a year ago…even six months ago. Clearly I had some concerns during the day, but I didn’t stop what I was doing and I didn’t dwell on the thoughts. I have ended the day in some pain and very tired, but all of that can be chalked up to everything I did. Tomorrow I get to recover (no appointments!) and then Tuesday it’s back to PT.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 4, 2013 in anxiety, hub, strength, stress, tired, worry

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Event complete

  1. joeyfullystated

    November 4, 2013 at 4:38 pm

    You did a lot!

     

Leave a Reply

 
