RSS

Am I the Only One?

11 Jul

I wish there was a database or a website somewhere that I could go search to find out if I am the only one. This miraculous database of listings should cover every topic imaginable, and be searchable by keywords or categories.

I was sure I was the only one suffering with my Prilosec-fever. Took me quite some time to search around and find other people dealing with the exact same adverse reactions to the OTC and prescription medication. I thought I was the only person paranoid (and fearful) about taking new medications, even anti-anxiety medications. An anti-anxiety support forum told me otherwise. Paranoia over food and having an allergic reaction to something? Yep, others out there feel the same way.

Anxiety? Yep.

Panic? Yep.

Health anxiety? Yep.

Worried about driving because of spontaneous vertigo problems? Yep.

Thinking too much? (LOL) Yep!

I could go through the entire list of my categories of blog posts, and the answer would be no, despite what I thought, I am not the only one. But wouldn’t it be nice to be able to go to one place, type in a worry or a fear or an adverse reaction and have it spit back how many others are dealing with the same? How reassuring it would be to know others have heartburn-related left arm referred pain that they were sure was a heart attack? Or to know others have worried that the bad headache they are having is an impending stroke? That the sight of watching your hub eating crabs with a wooden mallet makes you queasy? (Oh wait, that might just be me…)

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 11, 2013 in anxiety, not alone

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “Am I the Only One?

  1. joeyfullystated

    July 13, 2013 at 2:01 pm

    Anxiety, health anxiety, panic, fear of allergies, heartburn-related left shoulder/arm referred pain, headaches are brain tumors, right? and vertigo while driving — YEP.
    You’re on your own with the crabs 😛
    But I wouldn’t go out to the rail of the balcony on the 28th floor last night…
    And yes, it would be nice to know we’re not alone, when we sound so crazy to ourselves, it’s too hard to imagine telling other people though, hmm?

     
    • meANXIETYme

      July 13, 2013 at 10:47 pm

      It’d be an anonymous database. No need to leave your name, just how crazy you’re feeling!

       
  2. Holly

    September 3, 2015 at 5:25 am

    There is a database – go to the Prilosec ratings website and you will find 1,000 + people who went through the exact same experience from taking Prilosec. I’m going through it right now. Your story is identical to mine – Panic, anxiety 24/7- er 4 times – can’t even take care of my kids. I’m almost 4 weeks off the med and I drove a car for the first time yesterday trying not to have a panic attack the whole time. Hopefully by the next week or so I’ll feel better. It’s slowly tapering off- the severity of the symptoms, but very very scary. Your story gives me hope!

     
    • meANXIETYme

      September 3, 2015 at 9:49 am

      Thanks for posting, Holly! I’ll have to look for that website (if it’s not the patient ratings website that I mentioned in a previous post) and add my story. I only wish this was more publicized so people wouldn’t have to learn the hard way. 😦
      I’m so glad you’re doing better. Keep up the hope, it does get better every day you’re off that devil-drug!

       

Leave a Reply

 
